Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Aug 15

    Colegio de San Lorenzo defeats FEU-NRMF to claim MBL Open title

    Jun 26, 2017
    The Griffins add the MBL Open title to the NCRUAA title they won a few months ago. 

    COLEGIO de San Lorenzo brought down top favorite Far Eastern University NRMF, 87-85, to clinch the 2017 MBL Open basketball title.

    Six-foot-6 African import Soulemane Chabi Yo scored 28 points against the defense of FEU imports Moustapha Arafat and Kareem Abdul to power the Griffins to the title in their first MBL appearance.

    Dominic Formento had 19 points, including four triples, as CdSL-V Hotel finished the tournament with a 9-1 win-loss record.

    "This is another big achievement for the team," said coach Boni Garcia, who led the Griffins to the NCRUCLAA title early this year.

    Jhaps Bautista had 18 points for FEU-NRMF but committed two crucial turnovers in the final minute.

    Arafat and Christian Manalo added 11 points apiece, while Fil-Canadian Clay Crellin contributed nine points.

    Ex-PBA player Jerwin Gaco was thrown out of the game for an above-the-shoulder hit on Jon Gabriel in the first quarter.

    The Pido Jarencio-coached Tamaraws  fell behind by as many as 20 points in the second period but came charging back to keep the game interesting.

    The Tamaraws cut the lead to two points several times in the fourth quarter comeback but missed a chance to send the game into overtime when Bautista lost the ball while going for the game-tying drive to the basket with 10 seconds left.

    FEU-NRMF settled for runner-up honors six months after bagging its first MBL title.

    Philippine Christian University was third, while Diliman College-JPA Freight Logistics wound up fourth.

    Chabi Yo was named MVP and joining him in the Mythical Team were Formento, Crellin, Mike Ayonayon of PCU and Alex Diakhite of Diliman in the tournament sponsored by Smart Sports, Star Bread, Dickies Underwear, Ironcon Builders and Gerry's Grill.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The scores:

    San Lorenzo — Chabi Yo 28, Formento 19,  Gabriel 15, Callano 11,  Baldevia 7,  Borja 4, Castanares 2,  Rosas 1, Laman 0.

    FEU-NRMF 85 — Bautista 18, Arafat 11, Manalo 11,  Morales 11,  Crellin 9, A. Santos 6, Gaco 4,  Sta. Maria 4,  Tan 3, Zamora 3, Abdul 2,  Santos 2, Gumabay 1, Camacho 0.

    Quarterscores: 29-18; 48-34; 68-54; 87-85.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    The Griffins add the MBL Open title to the NCRUAA title they won a few months ago. 
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result