Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Oct 20

    San Beda Red Cubs go for back-to-back titles in PSSBC

    Dec 4, 2018
    Batang Gilas Rhayyan Amsali is expected to suit up for San Beda in the PSSBC.

    SAN Beda University hopes to make up for its failed title bid in the NCAA when it goes for a back-to-back championship in the Philippine Secondary Schools Basketball Championship (PSSBC) Rain or Shine Elastopaint Cup which launches its 7th edition starting Dec. 15 at the SGS Stadium in Quezon City.

    The Red Cubs are proud holders of 22 titles in the country’s oldest league but have been eclipsed the last three seasons with the Mapua Red Robins winning the 2016 and 2018 titles and the La Salle Greenhills reigning supreme two years ago.

    With the entry of former National University star Rhayyan Amsali, the Red Cubs hope to turn their fortunes around starting in this year’s PSSBC where they are going for their third title.

    The Red Cubs became the first two-time champion of the event also sponsored by Freego, Che’ Lu Bar and Grill, IronCon Builders, Dickies Underwear, Hapee Toothpaste, Blackwater Sports and MEC Networks by winning last year’s title.

    Continue reading below ↓

    They won their first title four years ago.

    “San Beda is still one of the teams to beat with the entry of Amsali,” said league chairman Terry Qu.

    Event organizer Edster Sy said the coaches meeting will be held on Wednesday.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Aside from Amsali, also expected to provide firepower for the Red Cubs are Josh Lazaro, Yukien Andrada, Penny Estacio, Kai Oliva and Kenneth Pelipel.

    The school of the winning team will receive P50,000 plus trophy while the second and third placers get P30,000 and P20,000 in the event also backed by Masumax Food Supplement, Cherrylume, SUMO GI Sheets and Choi Garden.

    Out to crowd San Beda and Mapua for the title are FCAAF titlist Hope Christian High School, Cebu champion University of Cebu and ASEAN Schools and Palarong Pambansa winner National University.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Batang Gilas Rhayyan Amsali is expected to suit up for San Beda in the PSSBC.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result