Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Jul 17

    Red Cubs reinforce status as best high school team in land with PSSBC title romp

    Nov 23, 2014

    SAN Beda reinforced its status as the best high school team in the country by ruling the 3rd Philippine Secondary Schools Basketball Championship-Ironcon Builders Cup last Saturday at the Chiang Kai Shek College Gym in Tondo Manila.

    Displaying the form that won them a sixth straight and a record 21st NCAA title last month, the Red Cubs dumped the Xavier School Stallions, 89-59, to win their first PSSBC crown to cap another successful year.

    After settling for a 25-12 first quarter lead, the Red Cubs padded their lead to 41-19 at halftime before practically sealing the win in the third after increasing their advantage to 25 points.

    Fans who were anticipating an intense showdown went home fully disappointed as the Stallions were hardly a shadow of them team that toppled Chiang Kai Shek College and reigning UAAP champion National University in the quarters and semis, respectively.

    Andrei Caracut and Chami Diputado started San Beda’s onslaught before Kenneth Alas joined the scoring spree to complete the team’s domination. Alas’ jumper gave them an 81-45 spread.

    The Red Cubs shot an impressive 59 percent from the field (29-of-49) and also dominated the rebounding, 52-29. The team also displayed better team work with its 22 assists against the 11 by Xavier.

    Caracut, who shared the scoring honors with Diputado, emerged as the Final MVP. He also had 12 boards and four assists.

    Tyler Tio, as usual, carried the fight for the Golden Stallions with 15 point but got little support from his teammates.

    "Hats off to San Beda because they proved to be this year's best team. As for our team, we will try again to be in the finals and hopefully win next year," said Tio.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Earlier, the Bullpups upended the FEU Baby Tamaraws, 63-59, to claim third place in the tournament also sponsored by Blackwater-Ever Bilena, Freego, Rain or Shine, Dickies Underwear, Hapee Toothpaste, Jumbo Plastic Linoleum and MEC Computers.

    PSSBC chairman Jimi Lim along with Commissioner Ato Badolato and NCAA Mancom chairman Paul Supan of host Jose Rizal University were on hand to award the championship trophy to San Beda plus a P50,000 check.

    Aside from Caracut and Tio, also making it to the Mythical Selection were JV Gallego of CKSC, Jollo Go of Hope Christian HS, Darius Estrella of JRU, Denniel Aguirre of Mapua, Chris Fajarito of FEU and Mark Dyke of NU.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result