Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Fri, Sep 25

    Six-time NCAA juniors champion San Beda favored in 3rd PSSBC-Ironcon Builders Cup

    Oct 26, 2014
    The San Beda Red Cubs celebrate their sixth straight NCAA juniors basketball title. Jerome Ascano

    FOR winning a record sixth straight title and 21st overall in the NCAA juniors meet, San Beda College has been installed heavy favorite to rule the 3rd Philippine Secondary Schools Basketball Championship (PSSBC) Ironcon Builders Cup which opens shop on Nov. 8.

    The Red Cubs fell short in their bid to win the only championship missing in their cabinet after absorbing a heart-rending 108-102 triple overtime loss to the San Sebastian College Staglets in last year’s final.

    With Joshua Caracut and Nikko Abatayo at the helm, the Red Cubs outlasted the Mapua Cardinals, 78-65, last Saturday to become the winningest high school team in the NCAA.

    But with their latest success, the Red Cubs are now fully motivated to go all the way this time and add the PSSBC to its burgeoning list of titles.

    “For becoming the winningest team in the NCAA, San Beda is now the team to beat this year,” said PSSBC Chairman Jimi Lim of Ironcon Builders. “They have all the ingredients to become a champion again.”

    Continue reading below ↓

    Jumbo Plastic Linoleum owner and PSSBC Vice Chairman Jimmy dela Cruz agreed, saying: “San Beda showed great character during its win over Mapua. They (Cubs) are a very disciplined squad and they complemented each other well.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Out to spoil San Beda’s bid in the tournament also backed by Rain or Shine, Blackwater-Ever Bilena, Dickies Underwear, Hapee Toothpaste, Freego, and MEC are reigning UAAP champion National University, Chiang Kai Shek College, and Mapua.

    The CKSC Dragons are coming off an impressive title win over the Ateneo Eaglets in the recent Jumbo Plastic Linoleum Cup.

    Also taking part in the tournament that will be aired on Aksyon 5 are Ateneo, inaugural champion Hope Christian High School, Xavier School, Far Eastern University, University of the East, Letran, Jose Rizal University, and St. Stephen’s High School.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    The San Beda Red Cubs celebrate their sixth straight NCAA juniors basketball title. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result