Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, May 31

    Ron Jacobs, Lim Eng Beng to be honored posthumously in PSA Awards rites

    Feb 11, 2016
    Former national coach Ron Jacobs leads the list of awardees to be honored posthumously in the coming PSA Annual Awards Night.

    THE Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) pays homage to the dearly departed friends of local sports in its Annual Awards Night presented by MILO and San Miguel Corp. this Saturday at the One Esplanade.

    The great late national men’s basketball team coach Ron Jacobs heads the list of those to be given with Posthumous Awards by the country’s oldest media organization during the formal rites that start at 7 p.m. and hosted by Quinito Henson and Patricia Bermudez-Hizon.

    Others to be recognized posthumously are Ginebra executive and Tarlac Rep. Enrique ‘Henry’ Cojuangco Sr. Olympian and former national shooting association president Arturo ‘Art’ Macapagal, cage great and Hall of Famer Lim Eng Beng, and ex-softball national team player Ireneo ‘Nayong’ Federigan.

    Completing the list are Servillano Aquino Padiz Jr., considered the ‘father of sepak takraw’ in the country, PBA technical director Ramil Cruz, and one-time PSC commissioner and running enthusiast Jose ‘Jun’ Castro Jr.

    A trophy and a minute of silence will be offered to the eight of them during the two-hour affair with the Philippine Sports Commission as major sponsor and supported by Smart, MVP Foundation, Maynilad, SM Prime Holdings, Sen. Chiz Escudero, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., Philippine Basketball Association, Globalport, Rain or Shine, One Esplanade, and National University.

    Highlight of the night is the awarding of the prestigious Athlete of the Year award to be conferred on co-winners Donnie Nietes, Nonito Donaire Jr., and Miguel Tabuena.

    Others to be honored are Wilfred Uytengsu Jr. (Executive of the Year), Gilas Pilipinas (President’s Award), Wushu Federation of the Philippines (NSA of the Year), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Calvin Abueva and Terrence Romeo (Mr. Basketball), sports great Filomeno ‘Boy’ Codinera (Lifetime Achievement Award), and the 14 recipients of major awards led by San Miguel superstar June Mar Fajardo.


    The gold medalists in both the Southeast Asian Games and the Para Games lead those to be handed out with citations.

    Palarong Pambansa Most Outstanding Athletes Maurice Sacho Ilustre and Nicole Pamintuan banner the recipients of the Tony Siddayao awards while Kyla Soguilon and Justine Kobe Macario will be handed the annual MILO Outstanding Athletes for boys and girls.

    Watch Now
    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
    Former national coach Ron Jacobs leads the list of awardees to be honored posthumously in the coming PSA Annual Awards Night.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result