Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Jan 18

    High school squads start battle for top honors in PSSBC Ironcon Builders Cup

    Nov 7, 2014

    SOME of the best high school squads battle it out for top honors as the 3rd Philippine Secondary School Basketball Championship Ironcon Builders Cup comes off the wraps on Saturday at the Chiang Kai Shek College gym in Tondo, Manila.

    UAAP titlist National University tests the mettle of Tiong Lian’s Chiang Kai Shek College at 1 p.m.

    San Beda College, which became the winningest team in the NCAA after beating Mapua last month for its 21st title, takes on University of the Philippines at 2:30 p.m. The Junior Maroons took the place of the Ateneo Blue Eaglets, who opted to skip the tournament.

    Invited as special guests in the opening rites that start at 12 p.m. are Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas president Manny V. Pangilinan, SBP vice chairman Ricky Vargas, SBP executive director Sonny Barrios and PBA officials led by chairman Pato Gregorio of Talk ’N Text.

    Gilas coach Chot Reyes and Jimmy Alapag will also be there to receive the P1 million bonus as promised by three PSSBC Governors – Hapee Toothpaste’s Dr. Cecilio Pedro, Blackwater-Ever Bilena’s Dioceldo Sy and Freego’s Eduard Tio – for their inspiring performance in the Fiba World Cup in Spain.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “With the expected presence of PBA and SBP officials, we hope our players will be further motivated to give their all,” said PSSBC chairman Jimi Lim. “We hope the future members of Gilas will come from this batch.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Clashing in the opening game at 10 a.m. are Far Eastern University and Tiong Lian side St. Stephen’s High School, while Xavier School collides with University of the East at 4 p.m.

    San Sebastian, which took the spot vacated by Letran, starts its title-retention bid against NU on Sunday in the event also sponsored by Rain or Shine, Freego, Hapee Toothpaste, Jumbo Plastic Linoleum, Dickies Underwear, Blackwater-Ever Bilena and MEC Computers.

    Other teams seeing action are inaugural champion Hope Christian High School, Jose Rizal University and Mapua.

    Games in the PSSBC will be aired by Aksyon TV.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result