Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Aug 22

    Yeng, Rain or Shine owners share spotlight in Press Corps awards

    Sep 9, 2012
    Yeng Guiao will receive the Baby Dalupan trophy for the second time in his career. Jerome Ascano

    THE celebration has yet to stop for Rain or Shine.

    A month after winning their breakthrough PBA championship, it’s the turn of coach Yeng Guiao and co-team owners Raymund Yu and Terry Que to share the spotlight as they lead the major personalities to be honored in the Smart/PLDT 2012 PBA Press Corps Annual Awards at Kamayan EDSA on Monday night.

    The 53-year-old Guiao is the recipient of the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Trophy as Coach of the Year, while Yu and Que will receive the Danny Floro Trophy as Executives of the Year during the formal awards rites that has former Senator and Olympian Freddie Webb as special guest of honor and speaker.

    The blue-ribbon affair starts promptly at 7 p.m. with veteran Sev Sarmenta and Erika Padilla as masters of ceremonies.

    Guiao, the firebrand Rain or Shine coach, brings homes the Dalupan Trophy for the second time in 11 years after steering the Asian Coating Inc. franchise to their first-ever PBA championship in the season-ending Governors Cup.

    The Executive of the Year award, meanwhile, will be the first for both Yu and Que, whose partnership produced six Philippine Basketball League titles in the past, and just recently, a historic PBA crown following a stunning Game Seven win by Rain or Shine over the heavily favored B-Meg Llamados.

    The entire Rain or Shine franchise is currently in Bangkok, Thailand for a short vacation as part of management’s incentive for winning the Governors Cup championship, although Gabe Norwood and team captain Jireh Ibanes are coming home earlier to attend to pressing matters.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Smart Gilas 2.0 and coach Chot Reyes, meanwhile, will receive a special citation for their amazing title run in the recent Jones Cup in Taipei.

    Reyes will be given a separate citation for being the first Filipino coach to win the Jones Cup. The Philippines had its first two Jones Cup championships under coach Ron Jacobs and the third one under Tim Cone.

    Ibanes, Ginebra’s Mark Caguioa, Talk n Text’s Larry Fonacier and Powerade’s Gary David are also major awardees as Defensive Player of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, Mr. Quality Minutes, and Scoring Champ, respectively.

    Also to be feted are Paul Lee, Jayvee Casio, Marcio Lassiter, Dylan Ababou, and James Sena who comprise the All-Rookie Team.

    PBA commissioner Chito Salud, current board chairman Robert Non, immediate past chair Mamerto Mondragon, and other PBA officials are expected to grace the annual occasion supervised by the men and women regularly covering the beat led by president Rosso `Musong’ Castillo of the Inquirer.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Yeng Guiao will receive the Baby Dalupan trophy for the second time in his career. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result