Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Aug 14

    Trillo hit with P40,000 fine for media rant, confrontation with officials

    Mar 25, 2013
    Alaska coach Luigi Trillo insists that instead of a double-lane violation, two San Mig players should have been called for a disconcerting violation in the controversial play. Jerome Ascano

    PBA commissioner Chito Salud on Monday slapped a P40,000 fine on Alaska coach Luigi Trillo for his post-game media rant against the pro league and his actions before officials in the aftermath of Alaska’s 83-84 loss to defending champion San Mig Coffee on Saturday at the Big Dome.

    “For repeatedly issuing statements to the press that tend to undermine public confidence in the game’s outcome in general, and mislead and confuse the public as the correctness of the call made by the game officials with respect to the free throw violation in the game between the Alaska Aces and San Mig Coffee Mixers in particular, statements that are deemed by this office to be detrimental to the best interests of the league, you are hereby fined the amount of P20,000,” Salud said in a strongly-worded letter to the young Alaska mentor.

    The PBA chief fined the Alaska coach another P20,000 “for violating the rule prohibiting any member of a team from approaching or confronting the game officials, before, during or after a game.”

    Trillo, accompanied by Alaska team manager Dickie Bachman, appeared before Salud on Monday to air his side on the tumultuous events that marred the game against San Mig, which ended in controversy after referees called a double lane violation that deprived Calvin Abueva a shot at a game-tying free throw.

    Trillo also came to the meeting prepared, showing Salud a video of the controversial play as he pointed out that San Mig players Mark Barroca and later PJ Simon bumped Abueva before he could take the free throws.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The Alaska coach insisted that instead of a double-lane violation, the two San Mig players should have been called for a disconcerting violation.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
    Alaska coach Luigi Trillo insists that instead of a double-lane violation, two San Mig players should have been called for a disconcerting violation in the controversial play. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result