Ateneo pads lead as top school with most active PBA players, but FEU, San Beda keep pace
Ateneo, FEU and San Beda remained the top three schools with the most number of active PBA players

PBA teams still prefer players from schools with winning traditions.

After all, Ateneo, Far Eastern University, and San Beda maintained their places as the Top Three schools with the most number of active players in the league as of the Philippine Cup opening-day rosters released this week.

The Blue Eagles, the defending UAAP champions, even tightened their grip on the top spot, adding two more players from last year’s tally for a total of 20 alumni in the league, while the Tamaraws added one more product to its list that now has 15. The Red Lions, the reigning NCAA titlists, likewise added to their total with two more for 14 standouts.

La Salle, which has the same alumni as last year with 10, came in at fourth spot, while University of the East and Letran have nine alumni each to share and round out the Top Five.

University of Santo Tomas, National University, and Adamson also stayed in the Top 10. The Bulldogs, though, dropped from fourth to a tie for seventh after having two less players than last year, now with just eight.

San Sebastian cracked the Top 10, moving up to joint seventh after having two players making the official roster of their respective teams, and draftee this year as the Stags took the place of Arellano, which dropped outside the Top 10 after having just five players – one less than last year.

Here are the schools and their proud alumni who make up the list.


1. Ateneo (20) – Chris Tiu, Von Pessumal, Frank Golla, Nico Salva, Chris Newsome, Emman Monfort, Juami Tiongson, Larry Fonacier, Kiefer Ravena, Rabeh Al-Hussaini, Fonzo Gotladera, JC Intal, Justin Chua, Doug Kramer, Noy Baclao, LA Tenorio, Greg Slaughter, Japeth Aguilar, Poy Erram, Nico Elorde

2. FEU (15) – Mark Barroca, Aldrech Ramos, Arwind Santos, Monbert Arong, Roger Pogoy, Alfrancis Tamsi, RR Garcia, Mike Tolomia, Mac Baracael, Jeff Chan, Ping Exciminiano, Carl Bryan Cruz, Mac Belo, Raymar Jose, Terrence Romeo

3. San Beda (14)  - Bambam Gamalinda, Rome dela Rosa, Kyle Pascual, Anthony Semerad, David Semerad, Dan Sara, Jaypee Mendoza, Baser Amer, Garvo Lanete, Anjo Caram, Jake Pascual, Davon Potts, Art dela Cruz, Dave Marcelo

4. La Salle (10) – Norbert Torres, LA Revilla, Jason Perkins, Willy Wilson, Jeron Teng, JVee Casio, Mike Cortez, Julian Sargent, Ryan Araña, Arnold Van Opstal

5. UE (9) – Paul Lee, Mark Borboran, James Yap, Bong Galanza, Ronald Tubid, Niño Canaleta, Roi Sumang, Emil Palma, Chris Javier

Letran (9) – Raymond Almazan, Rey Nambatac, Bryan Faundo, Kevin Alas, Jam Cortes, Rey Guevarra, RJ Jazul, Kevin Racal, Mark Cruz


7. University of Santo Tomas (8) – Ed Daquioag, Louie Vigil, Dylan Ababou, Cyrus Baguio, Kevin Ferrer, Jervy Cruz, Aljon Mariano, Allein Maliksi

San Sebastian (8) – Ian Sangalang, Dexter Maiquez, Jason Ballesteros, Michael Miranda, Calvin Abueva, Ronald Pascual, Michael Juico, Bradwyn Guinto

NU (8) – Jewel Ponferrada, Troy Rosario, Reden Celda, Glenn Khobuntin, Gelo Alolino, Marion Magat, Raymond Aguilar, Kyle Neypes

10. Adamson (7) – Rodney Brondial, Jericho Cruz, Don Trollano, Alex Nuyles, Eric Camson, Ken Bono, Jansen Rios


Arellano (5) – Jio Jalalon, Keith Agovida, Prince Caperal, John Pinto, Lervin Flores

Philippine Christian University (4) – Beau Belga, Gabby Espinas, Jayson Castro, Jackson Corpuz

Jose Rizal University (4) – Michael Mabulac, Philip Paniamogan, Marvin Hayes, James Sena

University of the Philippines (3) – Jay-R Reyes, Raul Soyud, Jett Manuel

Emilio Aguinaldo College (3) – Sydney Onwubere, Jan Jamon, Ronjay Buenafe

Mapua (3) – Kenneth Ighalo, Joseph Eriobu, Yousef Taha

University of Cebu (2) – Brian Heruela, June Mar Fajardo

Philippine School of Business Administration (2) – Marc Pingris, Vic Manuel

St. Francis of Assisi (2) – Yancy de Ocampo, Ranidel de Ocampo

University of Manila (2) – Ronnie Matias, Reynel Hugnatan

College of St. Benilde (2) – Paolo Taha, Jonathan Grey

Lyceum (2) – Chico Lanete, Joseph Gabayni

Centro Escolar University (2) – Mon Abundo, Joseph Sedurifa

University of Perpetual Help (1) – Scottie Thompson

San Sebastian Cavite (1) – Mark Yee

St. Clare (1) – Jammer Jamito

Colegio de San Lorenzo (1) – Jon Jon Gabriel

University of Mindanao (1) – PJ Simon

University of Visayas (1) – JR Quiñahan

Southwestern University (1) – Mark Tallo


Teams, however, seemed to have reduced their reliance on Filipino-foreign players as the number of standouts who honed their skills abroad decreased from 42 to 35 this year – again, as of the opening-day rosters.


Cal State Fullerton (2)  – Marcio Lassiter, Ryan Reyes

Bakersfield – Billy Mamaril

Biola University – Sol Mercado

BYU-Hawaii – Asi Taulava

Cal Poly Pomona – Matt Ganuelas Rosser

Coppin State – Rafi Reavis

Chadron State College – Mo Tautuaa

Eckerd – Jay Washington

George Mason University – Gabe Norwood

Glendale – Mark Caguioa

Hawaii-Hilo – Alex Cabagnot

Hope International University – Ael Banal

James Cook University – Sonny Thoss

John Brown University – Abel Galliguez

Lewis-Clark State College – Alex Mallari

Long Beach State – Jerramy King

Marshall – Chris Ross

McGill University – Sean Anthony

McKendree University – Mike DiGregorio

NDNU – Simon Enciso

Oakland – Kelly Williams

Old Westbury – Rashawn McCarthy

Penn State – Stanley Pringle

Reedley – Cliff Hodge

San Francisco State University – Robbie Herndon

Seattle Pacific University – Chris Banchero

Sonoma State – Harvey Carey

SRJC – Kelly Nabong

St. Bonaventure – Matthew Wright

University of Hawaii – Jared Dillinger

University of Minnesota – Maverick Ahanmisi

University of Mount Olive – Justin Melton

UTEP – Joe Devance

Waldorf University – Karl Dehesa

Follow the writer on Twitter: @KarloSacamos