Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Nov 30

    Tubid says sorry, but insists hit that left Newsome with swollen eye not intentional

    Apr 2, 2017
    Chris Newsome is treated on court after a hit by Ronald Tubid. Jerome Ascano

    RONALD Tubid was contrite for ‘accidentally’ hitting Chris Newsome in the face that led to his ejection early in the fourth quarter of San Miguel Beer’s 99-92 win over Meralco Sunday night in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup.

    And for someone who knows how to give, Tubid also can take it.

    “Sorry talaga,” he said after the Beermen’s successful debut in the mid-season tournament. “Kung anuman ang sabihin ng PBA sa akin, tatanggapin ko.”

    The incident happened at the 9:12 mark of the payoff period when Tubid and Newsome went for the rebound following a Baser Amer miss. While going for the ball, the San Miguel veteran hit the Meralco sophomore with a fist that left Newsome with a swollen right eye.

    Following a review of the tape, Tubid was called for a flagrant foul penalty 2 and thrown out of the game for good. He failed to score in 12 minutes of play as he was 0-of-2 from three-point range.


    [See SMB shakes off rust to deal Meralco its first loss]

    Newsome split the two free throws awarded to him that knotted the score at 69. Last season’s Rookie of the Year finished with nine points (3-of-9 from the field), had seven rebounds, and three assists, but committed six turnovers.

    Watch Now

    SPIN.ph tried to get the side of Newsome after the game, but politely begged off.

    Tubid kept repeating how apologetic he was for the episode.

    “Sa akin talaga hindi ko nakita. It happened na pag-swing ko may tinamaan,” said the pesky guard from University of the East.

    “It is what it is kung i-fine ako ng PBA. Susunod naman ako sa rules ng PBA. Sorry.”

    He felt sorry too, that it happened right on the Beermen’s first game of the conference.

    “Excited pa naman (dahil first game), pero nangyari na yung nangayari,” Tubid said. “Bahala na next game, tanggap ko naman.”


    Tubid failed to approach Newsome after the game, but hopes to talk to him once they crossed paths.

    “Siguro, baka. Pero kung anuman, sorry talaga,” he stressed before excusing himself.

    Read Next
    Watch Now
    PBA Updates
    Sorry, no results found for
    Chris Newsome is treated on court after a hit by Ronald Tubid. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result