Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Aug 4

    Romero guest of honor at PSA Annual Awards

    Mar 13, 2013

    A DYNAMIC sportsman-businessman who embodies today’s active breed of sports leaders will be the guest of honor in the PSA-Milo Annual Awards Night set on Saturday at the grand ballroom of the Manila Hotel.

    Globalport 900 Inc. team owner and sports patron Mikee Romero joins the country’s oldest media organization in a two-hour special rites honoring the best and brightest of 2012.

    Romero will be joined in the presidential table by the country’s top sports officials led by Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Jose `Peping’ Cojuangco and Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Ritchie Garcia.

    PSA president Rey Bancod of Tempo said Romero’s passion and unwavering love for sports are unquestionable, having been involved in basketball, baseball, cycling, shooting, mixed martial arts, and recently, volleyball and polo.

    His youthful enthusiasm also makes him a perfect fit as guest speaker of the gala night celebrating the emergence of the young crop of potential athletes as gleamed by the huge number of recipients of the Tony Siddayao Awards and the naming of the Milo Junior Athletes of the Year.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The guest appearance of the former basketball godfather in the affair aired live over DZSR Sports Radio 918 and presented by the Philippine Sports Commission, Smart, Meralco, Rain or Shine, Globalport 900, Philippine Basketball Association, Senator Chiz Escudero, ICTSI and Philippine Golf Tour, LBC, SM Prime Holdings, and San Miguel Corporation, couldn’t have come at a better time.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The former De La Salle player had just finished hosting a two-day polo festival at the Alabang Country Club field in his bid to boost the popularity of the sport in the country.

    He is likewise the team manager of the La Salle Lady Spikers who won a third straight UAAP women’s volleyball championship two weeks ago.

    Romero and the rest of the top-ranking sports officials will personally hand out the coveted Athlete of the Year award to co-winners Nonito Donaire Jr., Josie Gabuco, Ateneo Blue Eagles team, and the Manila women’s softball team.

    Continue reading below ↓

    2012 PSA Final List of Awardees


    Nonito Donaire Jr. Team Manila women’s softball team

    Josie Gabuco Ateneo Blue Eagles team


    Smart Pilipinas


    Chito Salud


    Mary Grace Delos Santos (athletics), Brian Viloria (boxing), Johnriel Casimero (boxing),

    Donnie Nietes (boxing), Sonny Boy Jaro (boxing), Baler Ravina (cycling), Mark Galedo (cycling), Tony Lascuna (pro golf), Dottie Ardina (amateur golf), Mark Caguioa (pro basketball), Bobby Ray Parks (amateur basketball), Dragon Boat team, Princess Joanna Mae Ylanan (karate), Hagdang Bato (horseracing), Jonathan Hernandez (horseracing), Mikaela Calamba (taekwondo), Vincent Floirendo (motorsports)


    Axel Toni Ngui, Kirsten Chloe Daos


    Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP), National Golf Association of the Philippines (NGAP)


    Albert Lim (tennis), Alieson Ken Omengan (wushu), Shania Mae Mendoza (chess), Charles Bonagua (karate), Alex Lay (karate), Jurence Mendoza (tennis), Princess Superal (golf), Jed Dy (golf), Malvinne Alcala (badminton), Mark Shelley Alcala (badminton), Mark Reggie Flores (motocross), Michael Christian Martinez (skating), Clark Cruz (powerlifting)

    Continue reading below ↓


    Chieffy Caligdong , Ed Sacapano


    Kenneth San Andres (motocross), Johnny Arcilla (tennis), men’s 4x4 relay team (athletics SEA Games gold medalists), Erlinda Lavandia (athletics), Jessie Aligaga, Denbert Arcita (wushu), Frankie Minoza (golf), Jayvee Agojo (golf), Monica Torres (triathlon), August Benedicto (triathlon), Mirasol Abad (duathlon), Oliver Barbosa (chess), Johan Aguilar (swimming), Raniel Resuello (superbikes), VJ Suba (karting), Alaska sports, AKTV

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result