Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 23

    Robert Jaworski eyed to be part of elite committee to pick '40 Greatest Players' in PBA history

    Oct 28, 2014

    PBA legend Robert Jaworski is being eyed to play a major role when the pro league chooses the '40 Greatest Players' of its first 40 years who will be honored in elaborate rites in April.

    Jaworski, a former MVP and largely regarded as the most popular player in league history, is set to be part of the selection committee that will be handed the task of picking the best and the brightest from the generations of players that have seen action in Asia's first play-for-pay league.

    PBA officials said Jaworski, 68, is the most logical choice to be part of the elite selection committee, where he is expected to be joined by former and present league officials, former players, and mediamen.

    [See PBA set to honor 40 greatest players of its first 40 years. Who should be on the list?]

    Once formed, the committee will be tasked to lay down the parameters for the screening of  the players to be included in the elite list - the first to be formed by the league since it honored its '25 Greatest Players' back in 2000.

    Among the major decisions the selectors will have to decide on is on whether all members of the '25 Greatest' list and former league MVPs should be part of the new list.

    Jaworski himself headed the '25 Greatest' list, which included Johnny Abarrientos, Ato Agustin, Bogs Adornado, Francis Arnaiz, Ricky Brown, Allan Caidic, Hector Calma, Philip Cezar, Atoy Co, Jerry Codinera, Kenneth Duremdes, Bernie Fabiosa, Ramon Fernandez, Danny Florencio, Abet Guidaben, Freddie Hubalde, Jojo Lastimosa, Lim Eng Beng, Samboy Lim, Ronnie Magsanoc, Vergel Meneses, Manny Paner, Alvin Patrimonio, and Benjie Paras.

    Continue reading below ↓

    From that list, Arnaiz, Calma, Codinera, Fabiosa, Florencio, Lastimosa, Lim Eng Beng, Lim, Magsanoc, and Paner did not have MVP awards on their resume.

    [See Making it to 'Top 40' list will be supreme honor, says James Yap]

    But more than anything else, the 2015 awards will be a chance for present-day stars to join the pantheon of league greats, among them two-time MVPs James Yap, Willie Miller and Danny Ildefonso, Mark Caguioa, Asi Taulava, Eric Menk, Danny Seigle and Jimmy Alapag.

    Also expected to be under consideration are top players who failed to be part of the '25 Greatest' because they were deemed 'too young,' a list that included Olsen Racela, Bong Hawkins, Dennis Espino, Marlou Aquino, Nelson Asaytono, and Jeffrey Cariaso.

    From that batch, only Duremdes made the '25 Greatest' list by virtue of his MVP award in 1998.

    In an unofficial poll done by early this year, Yap and Caguioa got majority of the more than 72,000 votes cast by readers, followed by Ildefonso, Seigle, Taulava and former MVP Jayjay Helterbrand.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result