Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Jan 23

    Ricky Vargas-led PBA board to be honored with President's Award

    Jan 16, 2019
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    THE PBA board led by chairman Victorico ‘Ricky’ Vargas gets its due recognition on the silver anniversary of the PBA Press Corps Annual Awards Night on Jan. 21 at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center.

    Vargas and the rest of the board will be the recipients of the President’s Award from the group of sportswriters covering tthe PBA beat for getting its act together to uphold the spirit of harmony within the league.

    Setting aside its differences to work for the common good, the board’s move paved the way for the league to successfully hold its 43rd season.

    Aside from Vargas (TnT Katropa), other members of the board are vice-chairman Richard Bachmann (Alaska), Treasurer Atty. Raymond Zorilla (Phoenix), Robert Non (San Miguel), Rene Pardo (Magnolia), Rod Franco (NLEX), Al Panlilio (Meralco), Atty. Mamerto Mondragon (Rain or Shine), Bobby Rosales (Columbian Dyip), Siliman Sy (Blackwater), Alfrancis Chua (Barangay Ginebra), and Eric Arejola (NorthPort).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Vargas, who is also the president of the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC), will serve as guest speaker during the special rites presented by Cignal TV.

    Alaska’s Vic Manuel is the recipient of the Mr Quality Minutes award, Poy Erram of NLEX is the Defensive Player of the Year, while Chris Tiu got the nod as the Breakout Player of the Season.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The Game of the Season goes to the triple overtime match between Barangay Ginebra and Rain or Shine, while NorthPort’s Stanley Pringle will be crowned the year’s scoring champion.

    Jason Perkins of Phoenix leads the All-Rookie team where he is joined by Jeron Teng (Alaska), Paul Zamar (San Miguel Beer), Christian Standhardinger (San Miguel Beer), and Robbie Herndon (Magnolia), the year’s All-Interview Team is composed of coach Yeng Guiao (NLEX), Chris Ross (San Miguel), Joe Devance (Barangay Ginebra), Mike Digregorio (Blackwater), Standhardinger, and Tiu, while June Mar Fajardo (San Miguel), Paul Lee (Magnolia), and Manuel are the recipients of the Order of Merit honor.

    Continue reading below ↓

    In observance of its 25th year, the PBAPC will be giving out its first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award apart from the Danny Floro Executive of the Year trophy, and the centerpiece Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan Coach of the Year Award.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result