View Today
    Sat, Dec 15

    Ref banned for late non-call on Sundov

    Feb 12, 2013
    Alaska's Calvin Abueva blocked Bruno Sundov's shot in this play, but league officials admitted there was clearly contact when the Aces rookie and Robert Dozier ganged up on the Rain or Shine import in the succeeding sequence. Jerome Ascano

    PBA commissioner Chito Salud has suspended one of the referees who worked Saturday's Rain or Shine-Alaska match for 10 game days for failing to call a clear foul in the final seconds of the Aces' 83-81 win.

    Salud and his technical team reviewed the final seven seconds of the game when Alaska defenders Robert Dozier and Calvin Abueva ganged up on Bruno Sundov and clearly created contact as Rain or Shine's 7-3 import went for a follow-up of his own miss.

    The crucial non-call led to a game-winning layup at the buzzer by Cyrus Baguio on the other end.

    “Tingin namin dapat nga may tawag dun," said Willie Marcial, PBA media bureau head, referring to the contentious play that had been the subject of a complaint filed by Rain or Shine on Monday.

    After the review, Salud immediately wrote a letter to the management of Rain or Shine informing them that referee Emmanuel Tanquion has been hit with a ban.

    For his part, Rain or Shine coach Yeng Guiao is asking the league to define the rules on what should be considered "incidental contact" and what should it considered as clear fouls.

    “Parang ang lawak na ng discretion ng referees in terms of calling yung mga incidental contacts. Ano yung foul sa contact na hindi foul?” said Guiao.

    “Sana lang maipaliwanag ng mabuti yun. Dapat alam yun ng coaches, players at maging ng audience.”

    The fiery mentor said they are getting tired of writing complaints about officiating blunders. The Painters were also at the losing end of another late non-call in their Philippine Cup opener against Brgy. Ginebra last year.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “Nakakasawa na rin talaga. Pero ito appeal ito hindi lang sa PBA office kungdi pati sa mga fans," Guiao reiterated.

    “Sana yung fans maging honest rin sa pag-admit ng maling tawag kahit pumabor sa team nila," Guiao added. “Kasi darating ang pagkakataon, team rin nila ang malalagay sa ganitong sitwasyon.

    “We owe to the fans and to the audience na bigyan natin sila ng magandang officiating, kasi kami we do everything to give them a good game."

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
    Sorry, no results found for
    Alaska's Calvin Abueva blocked Bruno Sundov's shot in this play, but league officials admitted there was clearly contact when the Aces rookie and Robert Dozier ganged up on the Rain or Shine import in the succeeding sequence. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result