Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, Sep 30

    Phoenix vents ire on hapless Terrafirma to grab first win

    Mocon, Fuel Masters snap skid, keep Dyip winless
    Jun 17, 2022
    Javee Mocon, Phoenix vs Terrafirma
    Javee Mocon is one of three Fuel Masters who had a double-double.
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascaño

    ANTIPOLO – Phoenix Super LPG attained its first victory in its third game of the PBA Season 47 Philippine Cup after a lopsided 97-74 win over Terrafirma on Friday at the Ynares Center.

    Phoenix vs Terrafirma recap

    The Fuel Masters led by as many as 35 points, the biggest margin thus far in the conference, as they improved their record to 1-2. Phoenix grabbed full control after outscoring Terrafirma, 26-10, in the second period.

    The Dyip are the only winless team in the conference after going down to 0-3.

    Jason Perkins led Phoenix with 17 points, while Matthew Wright had 11 points, 10 rebounds, and four steals. Javee Mocon added 10 points and 10 rebounds while Encho Serrano had 10 points including six in that key second period before going down with an ankle sprain in his left foot in the fourth quarter.

    Matthew Wright Phoenix vs Terrafirma


    Sean Anthony had a near double-double as he had nine points and 12 rebounds in a Phoenix uniform.

    “As much as possible, we don’t want to get deep into that bottom of the standings. It’s something that is big for us. We know how deadly Dyip is if we will take it easy on them. I guess one thing that worked for us is we really clamped down on our defense,” said Phoenix coach Topex Robinson.

    Phoenix took charge with an 11-2 run midway in the second for a 32-19 lead. The Fuel Masters later led, 59-24, in the third.

    Joseph Gabayni led Terrafirma with 15 points and nine rebounds while Aldrech Ramos had 14. The Dyip came into the game without Ed Daquioag and Isaac Go, who will miss the rest of the conference due to separate injuries.


      The scores:

      Phoenix Super LPG 97 – Perkins 17, Wright 11, Mocon 10, Jazul 10, Serrano 10, Anthony 9, Melecio 8, Tio 8, Lalata 5, Porter 5, Garcia 4, Muyang 0, Rios 0.

      Watch Now

      Terrafirma 74 – Gabayni 16, Ramos 4, Cahilig 10, Tiongson 9, Calvo 9, Monzon 6, Gomez de Liano 5, Mina 3, Balagasay 2, Grospe 0, Tumalip 0, Enriquez 0.

      Quarters: 18-14; 44-24; 71-46; 97-74.

      Get more of the latest sports news & updates on SPIN.ph

      Read Next
      Watch Now
      Sorry, no results found for
      Javee Mocon is one of three Fuel Masters who had a double-double.
      PHOTO: Jerome Ascaño
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result