Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 21

    PBA suspends three referees for glaring blunders in two semifinal games

    Apr 30, 2014

    THE PBA Commissioner’s Office announced on Wednesday it has cracked the whip on its referees, admitting the officials missed two calls in the opening games of the PBA Commissioner's Cup semifinal playoffs.

    League officials admitted the referees failed to call an out-of-bounds violation on Talk 'N Text guard Jimmy Alapag in the final 22 seconds of the Texters' 91-85 win over Rain or Shine on Monday.

    They Said It!

    “In Game One of the Talk N’ Text and Rain or Shine semifinals on April 28, the game officials missed an out-of-bounds violation that should have given ball possession to Rain or Shine at the 22-second mark of the fourth quarter." Official PBA statement

    Rain or Shine coach Yeng Guiao vehemently protested the call and in so doing ended up in a sidelines clash with TnT import Richard Howell, for which he was fined P30,000 early Wednesday.

    “In Game One of the Talk N’ Text and Rain or Shine semifinals on April 28, the game officials missed an out-of-bounds violation that should have given ball possession to Rain or Shine at the 22-second mark of the fourth quarter,” the PBA said in its official statement released to media on Wednesday.

    The Commissioner’s Office also admitted Air21 Fil-Tongan center Asi Taulava committed a traveling violation when he tried to shake off San Mig import James Mays en route to a layup with 1:22 to go in the fourth quarter.

    A furious San Mig coach Tim Cone protested the missed call by confronting the game officials at mid-court, earning two technical fouls and getting ejected in the process from the game which Air21 won, 103-100.

    Referee Rommel Gruta was suspended for the rest of the conference after missing the out-of-bounds call on Alapag while referees Rolando Dacanay and Peter Balao were banned for two game days each for failing to call the travelling violation on Taulava.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “The PBA has taken the appropriate disciplinary and corrective measures on the erring referees,” the league said.

    However, the league ruled against Guiao's contention that the Alapag out-of-bounds play was "reviewable" under the league's rules.

    “Both missed calls were not reviewable during the game and were thus not correctible under the rules,” the league said.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result