Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Fri, Aug 17

    PBA defends goaltending call, says non-calls 'reviewable' in last two minutes during deadballs

    Apr 1, 2016
    Kevin Pinkney is whistled for an offensive goaltending call in this play. Jerome Ascano

    THE PBA stood by its referees' decision to call a late offensive goaltending violation on Phoenix import Kevinn Pinkney that proved crucial in a 104-109 loss to Rain or Shine in a Commissioner’s game on Friday.

    Referees waived off the Fuel Masters import's basket with 17.9 seconds left that should've put Phoenix up, 106-105, after a video review established inkney touch the net on his second jump.

    Eyebrows, however, were raised as the officials acted solely on a complaint by the Elasto Painters even if there was no call made by the referees in the first place.

    But deputy commissioner Rickie Santos explained the non-call was reviewable as it happened within the last two minutes of the game.

    “Pwede i-review ng referees 'yun,” Santo said in a short chat with SPIN.ph  after the game. “Nag-time out rin naman ang Rain or Shine.”

    The E-Painters kept the lead at 105-104 owing to the call and held on for a 109-104 victory.

    [See Pinkney on offensive goaltending call: 'The refs saw what they saw and I respect their call']

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
    Kevin Pinkney is whistled for an offensive goaltending call in this play. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result