GILAS Pilipinas coach Tab Baldwin has been a refreshing voice in the PBA Commissioner's Cup Finals, bringing in fresh, insightful comments from the broadcast booth during the television coverage of the games.
But not all his comments have gone down well, particularly with league officials.
SPIN.ph has learned from sources that the PBA has expressed its displeasure over Baldwin's comments about officiating during Game Three of the midseason conference which saw Rain or Shine beat Alaska, 112-108, on Wednesday night at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.
According to sources, there was one stretch during the Game Three coverage when Baldwin talked about how he feels the referees may be 'helping' Alaska overcome a big deficit to make the match close in the end.
"The referees aren't going to allow this game to be a blowout," the Gilas coach said during the coverage.
That long Baldwin monologue didn't escape the attention of knowledgeable league watchers, including TV host and reporter Nikko Ramos who posted this comment on his Twitter account:
According to sources, league officials found the comments 'foul' and plan to make their displeasure known in a formal complaint to the television coveror Sports5, headed by Patricia Hizon, and mother company TV5 headed by Noel Lorenzana.
Baldwin had worked the first three games of the PBA Finals as color commentator but was not around for Game Four, spending the day in Punta Fuego with his family who are visiting from the US.