Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Dec 1

    PBA eyes rule change after admitting Dela Rosa trey 'shouldn't have been counted'

    Apr 29, 2019
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    PBA commissioner Willie Marcial stressed Rome Dela Rosa’s crucial three-pointer in Sunday’s Game Seven of the PBA Philippine Cup semifinals involved a judgement call by the referees that can't be reviewed - much less reversed.

    Marcial said there seemed to be a miscommunication between referees and table officials after the Magnolia wingman buried a three-pointer as the shot clock expired late in regulation against Rain or Shine at the Mall of Asia Arena.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “Yung mga referees kasi nakatingin sa play and dapat uma-assist yung table (officials). Pero yung table (officials) nag-dalawang isip kung counted o hindi,” explained Marcial.

    Still, the commissioner said the call should be made by the referees under such circumstances.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    “Pero kahit itaas o hindi itaas ng table yun (counted or not), referees decision pa rin. Final ang referees kung counted o hindi. Judgement yun.”

    MORE FROM SPIN
    MORE FROM SPIN

      Replays established that the ball was still in the hands of Dela Rosa when the clock expired at the final 3:30 mark of regulation. The referees' decision enabled the Hotshots to take a 53-50 lead.

      Magnolia went to win the game in overtime, 63-60, to advance in the finals against San Miguel in a rematch of last year’s title series.

      Marcial admitted upon review that the shot shouldn't have been counted by the referees.

      “Ni-review namin, not counted,” said Marcial on Monday.

      Marcial said existing league rules do not allow such cases to be reviewed, unless the play takes place inside the final two-minute mark.

      Continue reading below ↓

      But in light of the controversial call, the commissioner said his office is trying to find ways to better address such situations in the future, hinting at a rule change.

      “Titingnan namin sa pangyayaring ito kung ano ang dapat gawin na adjustment kung ire-review na ba lagi 'yun,” he said.

      Read Next
      Sorry, no results found for
      PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result