Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Feb 8

    PBA says Abueva didn't commit five-second violation in Magnolia winning play

    Dec 17, 2022
    undefined
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    THE PBA ruled out a five-second violation on Calvin Abueva in Magnolia’s final play in Game Two of its Commissioner’s Cup semifinal series against Barangay Ginebra.

    Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro said there was no infraction as Abueva inbounded the ball in the final 5.1 seconds of the tense match on Friday at the Philsports Arena.

    See Unhappy fans grumble over 'uncalled 5-second violation' on Abueva

    The play led to Paul Lee scoring the bank-shot game-winner at the buzzer, 96-95, in a wild-and-wooly sequence that capped a game of changing fortunes.

    The clarification was made as several fans argued Abueva took longer than five seconds before he could pass the ball to Lee as Ginebra big man Japeth Aguilar tried to harass the Magnolina inbounder.

    Paul Lee Magnolia vs Ginebra Game 2

    ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW ↓

    None among the Ginebra coaching staff and players questioned game officials about a possible infraction as well.

    Lee’s last-second heroic tied the best-of-five series at one-game apiece, and added further drama to the showdown pitting the league’s two biggest rival teams.

    MORE FROM SPIN
    MORE FROM SPIN

      In the series opener, Magnolia import Nick Rakocevic was ejected in the third period on account of two technical fouls, as Ginebra went on to pull off a tough 87-84 decision.

      Before Lee won it for the Hotshots, Stanley Pringle came in for the fouled-out Scottie Thompson with 25 seconds left to play and hit a clutch three-pointer off a Christian Standhardinger assist to put the Kings back on top, 95-94.

      Game Three will be played on Sunday also at the Philsports Arena.

      Read Next
      Watch Now
      Sorry, no results found for
      PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result