View Today
    Mon, Sep 16

    PBA chief says referees correct to call goal-tending on Columbian

    Jul 3, 2019
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    COLUMBIAN coach Johnedel Cardel had no complaints after a goaltending violation called against his import Lester Prosper allowed NorthPort to escape with a 110-108 victory on Wednesday in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup.

    Referees ruled after a video review that Lester Prosper hit the rim while trying to stop a lay-up attempt by Robert Bolick in the final eight seconds and Cardel was quick to dismiss the call as a bad break.

    “Breaks of the game. Ganun talaga eh,” Cardel said. “Natawag na eh. Siguro kung nandoon kami sa part na ‘yun, kami ‘yun, siguro suwerte rin kami. But this time, bumagsak ‘yung ano sa amin. Okay lang.”

    PBA commissioner Willie Marcial said the referees called a goaltending on the floor, which was later confirmed following a video review. He maintained the call was correct as PBA rules state that the rim can’t be touched by a defender on a lay-up attempt that has a chance of going in.

    Continue reading below ↓

    SEE ALSO
    SEE ALSO

    NorthPort coach Pido Jarencio said the call was also correct.

    “Goaltending naman talaga eh. Ni-review nila. Sana kung hindi ni-review o kaya nakita sa review na hindi goaltending, wala tayong pag-uusapan. Goaltending naman talaga nakita nga namin. Medyo late call nga lang. Talaga namang tumama ‘yung kamay sa ring,” Jarencio said.

    The Dyip slipped to 2-7 (win-loss) after the heartbreaking loss, but Cardel still lauded his players for nearly pulling it off against one of the form teams this conference.

    “Sayang, pero proud ako sa mga players. Kahit kulang kami, muntik pa rin kami manalo. Hopefully, ‘yung [final] two games namin, ganun pa rin,” Cardel said.

    Read Next
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result