Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sun, Jul 22

    PBA 'leaning' toward allowing Franz Pumaren to coach GlobalPort, Adamson at the same time

    Sep 11, 2017

    IT seems coach Franz Pumaren won’t be facing any problems anymore handling a PBA and a college team at the same time.

    The PBA is leaning toward allowing the GlobalPort coach to call the shots for Adamson simultaneously in UAAP Season 80 while the PBA Governors’ Cup is ongoing.

    League rules prohibit its head coaches from handling a college team at the same time, earlier prompting Pumaren to initially be a consultant before officially taking over as a head coach at the end of the Falcon’s campaign last season.

    [See Blatant Pumaren coaching sham is proof change hasn't come to PBA]

    But media bureau chief Willie Marcial bared the league board has started talks earlier this year about allowing Pumaren to take on the dual role.

    “Naka-pending yan eh,” Marcial told SPIN.ph. “Parang igo-go na, pero wala pang final approval ang board tungkol dyan.”

    “Baka (payagan), mas leaning papunta dun,” the longtime PBA official was quick to add.

    Pumaren was actually already at the helm in the Falcons' UAAP debut last Saturday when they lost to Ateneo.

    It remains to be seen, if the pending ruling will apply to future cases of coaches handing a pro and college team at the same time.

    “PBA board (ang nag-uusap),” Marcial said. “Wala naman probelma sa UAAP yan.”  

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result