Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Oct 20

    PBA set to award Governors' Cup Best Player of the Conference

    Dec 12, 2018
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    ONE from Paul Lee, Chris Banchero and Christian Standhardinger stand to win his first ever PBA Best Player of the Conference award as the league gives out the highest individual award of the Governors’ Cup on Wednesday night.

    The short ceremony takes place before Game Four of the finals between Magnolia and Alaska at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

    Standhardinger leads the statistical points race by a mile, averaging 41.9 sps at the end of the semifinals.

    Making a strong case in crowding out the San Miguel rookie for the award are Lee and Banchero.

    The Magnolia guard has climbed the list to rank No. 4 with 31.64 sps, while at close No. 5 is Banchero of Alaska with 31.51 sps. Votes from the media, players, and the PBA office will also factor in the selection of the winner.

    The 6-foot-7 Standhardinger ended up leading the conference in points (22.8 ppg) and rebounds (13.4 rpg). However, San Miguel failed to make past the quarterfinals after being eliminated by Alaska.

    Continue reading below ↓

    No player from a team which failed to make the semis has won the BPC award ever since 1994.

    For the first time in three years a new Governors’ Cup Best Import will be named, with Alaska's Mike Harris and Romeo Travis contending for the award.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Harris is on top of the race with 60.4 sps, while leading the league in rebounding with 20.3 per game. Travis, a former winner of the award in 2015 while still playing for Alaska, is at No.6 with 48 sps.

    Allen Durham of Meralco won the award for the past two seasons.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result