Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Dec 1

    Active PBA players' roots reinforce Pampanga, Cebu status as top basketball hotbeds

    Nov 24, 2016
    Pampanga has 11 players from the PBA active roster for the 2016-17 season, led by Calvin Abueva and Arwind Santos. Cebu follows with eight, led of course by three-time MVP June Mar Fajardo.

    PBA players have the fame and money, and enjoy the finer things in life, but there’s one thing they all do when they get their time with the mic at the end of games: They never forget to look back on their roots and greet people back from their hometowns.

    Such a simple act gives enormous pride and joy to sports fans, especially those from the same city, town, even those within the same province. That for a moment there’s that treasured affinity, and can even spark a dream for younger enthusiasts to follow the path of their hometown heroes.

    SPIN.ph did a census of sorts from the opening-day rosters for the PBA Philippine Cup, and three familiar provinces: one from North Luzon and two from Visayas have emerged at the top of the list of basketball hotbeds outside Metro Manila.

    Pampanga, where Jayson Castro, Calvin Abueva, Arwind Santos, and Japeth Aguilar, among others, were born, owns the most players with 11.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Three-time MVP June Mar Fajardo, Dondon Hontiveros, and JR Quiñahan are proud sons of Cebu, which has the second most number with eight, one more than Negros Occidental, home of James Yap and Jeff Chan, to name a few.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    [See Ateneo still has most number of players on PBA active list, but two schools are closing in]

    Davao del Sur and Cagayan de Oro, boasting two young standout playmakers in Scottie Thompson and Jio Jalalon, respectively, are tied for fourth with five representatives apiece.

    Cavite, Tarlac, and Iloilo have four each, while Albay, Bulacan, Olongapo, Pangasinan, and Zamboanga have three each. Two players each are proud to be from Nueva Ecija, Batangas, Ormoc, Iligan, Bataan, Cotabato, Quezon, and Laguna.

    In the metropolis, Manila still has the most representatives overall with 14, including two from Tondo, while Quezon City is next with eight cagers.

    Outside the country, California has the most representatives with 22, followed by Canada with four, and Australia with three players.

    Continue reading below ↓

    So which players are from you hometown? Here’s the breakdown.

    Pampanga - 11

    Jayson Castro

    Calvin Abueva

    Arwind Santos

    Japeth Aguilar

    Ian Sangalang

    Russel Escoto

    Justin Melton

    Michael Miranda

    Dexter Maiquez

    Levi Hernandez

    Tristan Perez

    Continue reading below ↓

    Cebu - 8

    June Mar Fajardo

    Dondon Hontiveros

    JR Quiñahan

    Aldrech Ramos

    Brian Heruela

    Roger Pogoy

    Jason Melano

    Oping Sumalinog

    Negros Occidental - 7

    James Yap

    Jeff Chan

    Noy Baclao

    LA Revilla

    Mark Yee

    Reynel Hugnatan

    Raul Soyud

    Continue reading below ↓

    Cagayan de Oro - 5

    Carlo Lastimosa

    Jio Jalalon

    Glenn Khobuntin

    Aaron Aban

    Philip Paniamogan

    Davao del Sur - 5

    Scottie Thompson

    Baser Amer

    John Pinto

    Reden Celda

    John Ferriols

    Tarlac - 4

    Niño Canaleta

    Jake Pascual

    Jaypee Mendoza

    Jericho de Guzman

    Iloilo – 4

    Ronald Tubid

    Anjo Caram

    Ken Bono

    Continue reading below ↓

    Emman Monfort

    Cavite - 4

    Terrence Romeo

    Ranidel de Ocampo

    Yancy de Ocampo

    Jessie Saitanan

    Albay - 3

    Mark Borboran

    Jay-R Reyes

    Alex Nuyles

    Bulacan - 3

    Art dela Cruz

    Billy Mamaril

    Jonas Villanueva

    Olongapo - 3

    Gabby Espinas

    Ping Exciminiano

    Matt Ganuelas-Rosser

    Continue reading below ↓

    Pangasinan - 3

    Marc Pingris

    Jason Ballesteros

    Bryan Faundo

    Marion Magat

    Zamboanga - 3

    RR Garcia

    Mark Barroca

    Mike Tolomia

    Laoag -3

    Jeoffrey Javillonar


    Bong Galanza

    Nueva Ecija - 2

    Vic Manuel

    Samboy de Leon

    Batangas - 2

    LA Tenorio

    Eric Camson

    Leyte - 3

    Chico Lanete

    Garvo Lanete

    Dylan Ababou

    Iligan - 2

    Cyrus Baguio

    Bambam Gamalinda

    Bataan - 2

    Raymond Almazan

    Bradwyn Guinto

    Continue reading below ↓

    Cotabato - 2

    Mac Belo

    PJ Simon

    Quezon - 2

    Denok Miranda

    Mac Baracael

    Laguna - 2

    Dennice Villamor

    Chris Javier

    Cagayan Valley

    Troy Rosario


    Reil Cervantes


    Keith Agovida


    Doug Kramer


    Don Trollano

    Ilocos Norte

    Ed Daquioag

    La Union

    James Sena


    Jansen Rios


    Papot Paredes

    Camarines Norte

    Jammer Jamito


    Beau Belga


    Jay Washington


    Jireh Ibanes

    Roxas, Capiz

    Jeckster Apinan


    Jewel Ponferrada


    John Wilson

    General Santos

    Manny Pacquiao


    Continue reading below ↓

    Manila - 14

    Jayjay Helterbrand

    Joseph Yeo

    Jonathan Grey

    JC Intal

    Allein Maliksi

    Ronnie Matias

    Carl Bryan Cruz

    Dave Marcelo

    Raymond Aguilar

    Von Pessumal

    Jonathan Uyloan

    Justin Chua

    Paul Lee

    Ryan Araña

    Quezon City - 8

    Larry Fonacier

    Jervy Cruz

    Ronjay Buenafe

    Josan Nimes

    Rodney Brondial

    Marvin Hayes

    Prince Caperal

    Frank Golla

    Pasay - 3

    RJ Jazul

    Rico Maierhofer

    Rico Villanueva

    Makati - 3

    Jvee Casio

    Kevin Ferrer

    JP Erram

    Mandaluyong -3

    Ael Banal

    Kevin Racal

    Aljon Mariano

    Las Piñas -2

    Kevin Alas

    Gelo Alolino

    San Juan - 2

    Chris Tiu

    Fonzo Gotladera

    Paranaque - 2

    Rabeh Al-Hussaini

    Mon Abundo


    Jericho Cruz


    Paolo Taha


    Rey Guevarra


    Continue reading below ↓

    California - 22

    Chris Newsome

    Willy Wilson

    Alex Cabagnot

    Marcio Lassiter

    Stanley Pringle

    Sol Mercado

    Maverick Ahanmisi

    Ryan Reyes

    Mark Caguioa

    Chris Ellis

    Kyle Pascual

    Karl Dehesa

    Mike Cortez

    Alex Mallari

    Kelly Nabong

    Simon Enciso

    Harvey Carey

    Kris Rosales

    Rome dela Rosa

    Abel Galliguez

    Jason Deutchman

    Tony dela Cruz

    New York – 2

    Rafi Reavis

    Rashawn Mccarthy


    Joe Devance


    Mike DiGregorio


    Chris Lutz


    Cliff Hodge


    Kelly Williams

    North Carolina

    Gabe Norwood


    Greg Slaughter


    Danny Seigle

    San Antonio, Texas

    Chris Ross

    Seattle, Washington

    Chris Banchero

    Continue reading below ↓

    Canada - 4

    Sean Anthony

    Matthew Wright

    James Forrester

    Norbert Torres

    Australia - 3

    Anthony Semerad

    David Semerad

    Mick Pennisi

    Tonga - 2

    Asi Taulava

    Mo Tautuaa

    Papua New Guinea

    Sonny Thoss


    Arnold Van Opstal

    Hong Kong

    Joseph Eriobu

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Pampanga has 11 players from the PBA active roster for the 2016-17 season, led by Calvin Abueva and Arwind Santos. Cebu follows with eight, led of course by three-time MVP June Mar Fajardo.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result