Vanguardia midcourt shot would've gotten Wright his 'triple double.' Instead he got T'd up
Ariel Vanguardia was slapped a technical for attempting a midcourt shot during a deadball in Phoenix's runaway win over NLEX on Friday. Jerome Ascano

HAD he made his midcourt shot, Phoenix coach Ariel Vanguardia would've 'completed' for Matthew Wright the first quadruple double in PBA history.

Instead, all he got for it is a technical foul.

Vanguardia attempted the halfcourt shot out of frustration after Wright mistakenly passed the ball in his direction during a Phoenix offensive play - one of nine turnovers the rookie had on a night when he had 12 points, 12 rebounds, and nine assists.

The Phoenix coach said the play was no different from a drill the team had been doing in practice. Unfortunately, Wright passed the ball to the wrong man.

'Spot drill ang tawag namin dun. Spot, spot, spot. E ako nakita dun sa spot," said Vanguardia smiling.

Vanguardia can afford to laugh at the play now after the Fuel Masters coasted to a 102-91 victory over the slumping NLEX Road Warriors to improve to 5-4 win-loss in the PBA Philippine Cup.

He also wouldn't have pulled off the stunt had the game been close. Phoenix enjoyed a 79-63 bubble at that point, even after Garvo Lanete made the free throw on Vanguardia's technical.

"Hindi ko naman ititira yun kung close ang game," he said later.

The Phoenix coach thought he'll only be called with a delay of the game warning. Besides, he also sees other coaches do the same thing in the past.

But he doesn't argue with the technical or the fine that will go with it, admittig it was all his wrongdoing.

"Judgment nila yun and I respect the judgment of the referees," said Vanguardia. "It's my fault."

Follow the writer on Twitter: @gerardmos