PBA says Tab Baldwin has apologized to Narvasa for on-air jab at officiating after complaint
Gilas coach Tab Baldwin's on-air comments on the officiating in Game Three of the Rain or Shine-Alaska finals didn't go down well with league officials. Jaime Campos

THE PBA media bureau has confirmed that league officials have written TV5 to express concern over Gilas Pilipinas coach Tab Baldwin's comments about officiating during his cameo appearance as analyst in the television coverage of the Commissioner's Cup Finals.

Media bureau chief Willie Marcial told SPIN.ph on Sunday a letter addressed to TV5 head Noel Lorenzana conveyed the league's sentiments over Baldwin's comments from the broadcast booth during Game Three of the Rain or Shine-Alaska finals on Wednesday.

In Game Three on Wednesday night, the Gilas and Ateneo coach talked at length from the broadcast booth about how he felt the referees were 'helping' Alaska overcome a big deficit, saying at one point, "The referees aren't going to allow this game to be a blowout."

Rain or Shine went on to beat Alaska, 112-108, after nearly blowing a 23-point lead. 

[See PBA not too happy with TV analyst Baldwin's comments over officiating in PBA Finals]

Marcial confirmed that the PBA wrote league coveror TV5 and its sports arm, Sports5, to express concern over the Baldwin comments, adding the national coach has already called up Commissioner Chito Narvasa to apologize.

"Nag-usap na sila ni commissioner at nag-apologize na si Coach Tab," said Marcial. "Pero maguusap sila uli to decide on what to do next."

Baldwin appeared as guest commentator in the first three games of the Alaska-Rain or Shine finals but wasn't around during Game Four.

Game Five is set to be played on Sunday at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @KarloSacamos