Poetic justice as Pringle shakes off contentious call to make winning plays for GlobalPort
GlobalPort rookie was left fuming by what he felt was a wrong out-of-bounds call that went against him late in the Batang Pier's 123-120 win over Talk 'N Text. Jerome Ascano

STANLEY Pringle felt justice was served after the referees made what he thought was a wrong out-of-bounds call against him in the endgame  of GlobalPort's 123-120 win over Talk 'N Text in the PBA Governors’ Cup on Friday night.

The Batang Pier’s rookie sensation appeared to make a successful save from the sideline after swiping the ball away from Tropang Texters star Jayson Castro with GlobalPort protecting a one-point lead with 26.7 seconds left.

“I felt like I was still in play, but it’s all good,” Pringle said.

But after a review of the play, the officials still awarded the possession to TNT, which promptly called for timeout for a chance to steal the win.

[See Daghles has no doubt 'phenomenal' Castro will again shine in Fiba-Asia wars]

The Texters, however, failed to capitalize as Asian import Sam Daghles missed a tough hook shot that led to a rebound and a foul drawn by, you guessed it, Pringle.

The Filipino-American combo guard buried both free throws to seal the hard-earned win against the defending Commissioner’s Cup champions.

“I kind of got mad at the refs for that (out-of-bounds) play, but emotions build up so much that you can’t help it.”

“I’m glad we still won,” said Pringle, who led the GlobalPort locals with 23 points on 8-of-15 shooting, on top of five assists, four boards, and two steals in 28 minutes. 

Follow the writer on Twitter: @KarloSacamos