SMC head honcho Ramon S. Ang to be honored with Executive of the Year in PBAPC Awards Night
San Miguel Corp. President and Executive Officer Ramon S. Ang is the Executive of the Year by the PBA Press Corps for the second time in four years. Jerome Ascano

THE man behind the success of San Miguel Corp. teams will be honored by the PBA Press Corps with one of its highest individual awards during the staging of its 24th Annual Awards Night on Thursday at the Gloria Maris Restaurant inside the Gateway Mall of the Araneta Center in Cubao.

Ramon S. Ang, president and chief executive officer of SMC, is the recipient of the Danny Floro Executive of the Year honor to be handed out by the group of sportswriters from the various national broadsheets, tabloids, and sports websites during the formal gathering presented by Cignal TV.

Ang, 63, was chosen for the honor after teams under the San Miguel umbrella completed a three-conference sweep of the entire PBA 42nd season. Its flagship ballcub, the San Miguel Beermen won the Philippine Cup and Commissioner’s Cup, respectively, before sister-team Barangay Ginebra Kings foiled their ambitious grand slam bid by copping the season-ending Governors Cup.  

This will be the second Executive of the Year title – named after the late amiable Crispa Redmanizers team owner Danny Floro - in four years for Ang after likewise being honored with the same distinction in 2014 when the Star Hotshots – now known as Magnolia Hotshots – won the league’s last grand slam under coach Tim Cone.

Notable Executive of the Year honorees in the past include TnT Katropa team owner Manny V. Pangilinan, Alaska counterpart Wilfred Uytengsu, Rain or Shine co-team owners Raymund Yu and Terry Que, among others.

 Ang is expected to share the limelight with the winner of the Coach of the Year award being held in honor of the late great mentor Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan.

Others to be honored during the program are Kelly Williams (William ‘Bogs’ Adornado Comeback Player of the Year), Chris Ross (Mighty Sports Defensive Player of the Year), and Jio Jalalon (Mr. Quality Minutes).


A first time award to be given is the Game of the Season, which goes to the Governors Cup duel between Barangay Ginebra and Star.

Completing the list of awardees are Terrence Romeo (Mighty Sports Scoring Champion), LA Tenorio (Order of Merit),  Roger Pogoy,  Jalalon, Matthew Wright, Kevin Ferrer, and Reden Celda (All-Rookie team, and coach Tim Cone, Jayson Castro, Ranidel de Ocampo, Marc Pingris, Beau Belga, and Tenorio (All-Interview team).

During the formal affair, the official PBAPC Facebook page will also be launched.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph