SMC big boss Ramon Ang gets nod as Executive of the Year in PBA Press Corps Awards Night
SMC big boss Ramon Ang has been behind the aggressive coaches and players' movements credited for putting the pieces together for San Mig's title sweep in the PBA this season. 

RAMON S. Ang, president and chief operating officer of San Miguel Corporation, will be honored as the 2014 Executive of the Year when the PBA Press Corps holds its Annual Awards Night on Thursday at the Richmond Hotel in Eastwood City, Libis, Quezon City.

Ang will be feted with the award named after the late Danny Floro, legendary owner of two-time Grand Slam champion Crispa Redmanizers, after a season that saw one of the three teams under the SMC umbrella, San Mig Super Coffee, make history with its own title hat-trick.

Mr. Ang, known in the world of big business by his acronym RSA, has been behind the SMC teams' aggressive coach and player movementS in the past years, and his hands-on approach to his ballclubs' affairs has put the pieces together for San Mig's sweep of all three conferences last season.

From behind his desk at the SMC building where he charts the course of the giant conglomerate's vast and varied business interests, RSA also plots the direction of his PBA teams, leaving no stone unturned in the bid to improve and strengthen even more the three SMC ballclubs.

Three members of Grand Slam teams from different eras will personally toast the top individual honorees and personalities.

Cage greats Fortunato 'Atoy' Co and Bogs Adornado, along with Alaska team manager Dickie Bachmann, serve as guest of honor and speakers as they recount their own grand slam experiences on this special occasion which has a theme `There Are Champions…and There Are Grand Slam Champions!’

All three get to narrate their respective stories to celebrate the league’s first grand slam in 18 years pulled off by the San Mig Super Coffee Mixers.

Co was among the top guns of the fabled Crispa Redmanizers team that won not just one, but two grand slams in PBA history, achieving the milestone in 1976 under legendary coach Virgilio 'The Maestro’ Dalupan, and in 1983 under the stewardship of Tommy Manotoc.

Adornado was the Redmanizers’ hot-shooting forward when they won the league’s first Grand Slam 38 years ago, the same season when he won his second straight league Most Valuable Player award.

For his part, Bachmann was a back-up center of coach Tim Cone when Alaska completed its own grand slam in 1996.

First held in 1993, the PBAPC Awards Night is backed by the PBA, Alaska, Barangay Ginebra, San Miguel, Barako Bull, Blackwater Sports, Globalport, Kia Motors, Meralco, NLEX, Rain or Shine, San Mig Super
Coffee, and Talk `N Text.


Already previously announced was Marc Pingris' victory as as Defensive Player of the Year, as well as San Mig Coffee teammates Peter June Simon and Mark Barroca, who are the recipient of the Quality Minutes and Order of Merit awards, respectively.

Veteran Asi Taulava is the Comeback Player of the Year, Jayson Castro is the Scoring Champion, while the All-Rookie Team is made up of Greg Slaughter, Ian Sangalang, Justin Melton, Terrence Romeo, and Raymond Almazan.

Also to be recognized during the formal rite are the winners of the last PBAPC Sportswriting Contest.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph