PBA scribes to fete Coach of the Year, season standouts in Annual Awards Night
San Mig coach Tim Cone is a lock for the Coach of the Year trophy after completing the second grand slam of his coaching career. Jerome Ascano

THE PBA Press Corps will hold its 2014 Annual Awards on August 21 at the Richmonde Hotel in Eastwood City, Libis, Quezon City to honor the men who excelled throughout the pro league's 39th season.

To be feted are the Coach of the Year, Executive of the Year, Mr. Quality Minutes, Comeback Player of the Year and the All-Rookie Team.

The Accel-Order of Merit award will go to the player most frequently voted Player of the Week, while the top three choices in the recent Willie Caballes-PBAPC Sports Writing Contest will also get their prizes.

The Coach of the Year trophy, won last year by then Alaska Aces mentor Luigi Trillo, is named after the legendary Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan, while the late Danny Floro, the flamboyant team owner of the fabled Crispa Redmanizers, has lent his name to the Executive of the Year plum, brought home last year by the entire PBA Board of Governors.

Three-time PBA Most Valuable Player William ‘Bogs’ Adornado will award the Comeback Player of the Year trophy which is named after him.

Backing the event are the PBA, Alaska, Barangay Ginebra San Miguel, Barako Bull, Blackwater Sports, Globalport, Kia Motors, Meralco, NLEX, Rain or Shine, San Mig Super Coffee, San Miguel Beer and Talk ‘N Text. 

PBAPC president Barry Pascua of Bandera enjoins all officers and members to be at the Richmonde Hotel Ballroom by 6 p.m.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph