PBA, SBP putting final touches on agreement to hold special draft for Gilas cadets
Jonathan Grey, Mike Tolomia, Mac Belo, Kevin Ferrer and Roger Pogoy are among those expected to be among the 12 players to be named by the SBP to the Gilas cadets pool.

THE PBA and the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) are putting the final touches on a memorandum of agreement that will pave the way for a special draft for the soon-to-be-announced members of the Gilas cadets pool.

The MOA will set the guidelines and parameters of a proposal to hold two separate drafts in the 2016 draft exercise slated October 30 - one for the regular rookie hopefuls and another for the 12 players set to be named by the SBP to the Gilas cadets pool.

At posting time, SBP president Al Panlilio said they have yet to complete a 12-man roster.

Mac Belo, Kevin Ferrer, Roger Pogoy, Mike Tolomia Russell Escoto, Ed Daquiaog and Jio Jalalon are among those expected to make the new Gilas team. Still uncertain is the status of Bobby Ray Parks and Kiefer Ravena who are trying their luck in the NBA D-League.

[See PBA extends deadline for rookie draft application]

The PBA had already extended the deadline for the filing of applications for rookie hopefuls to October 19, precisely because it wanted final hitches to the deal with SBP resolved before closing the application.

League officials said Gilas cadets will have to apply for the draft to be eligible for the special draft for cadets.

A deal was already hammered out by members of an SBP-PBA ad hoc committee made up of Commissioner Chito Narvasa, Panlilio, Ginebra governor Alfranchis Chua, and Rain or Shine rep Mert Mondragon.

Only a few issues need to be ironed out, officials said.

Meanwhile, the regular draft pool got an added first-round potential in former Philippine youth guard Raphael Banal.

 Banal, an Ateneo Blue Eaglet who played college ball for Victory U then Hope International in the United States, is among the latest players who made themselves available for the coming draft.

Among the early birds are former Gilas cadet Carl Bryan Cruz, Mapua’s Joseph Eriobu and Jessie Saitanan. St. Clare College’s Raymond Jamito and Jayson Ibay, UE’s Jairold Flores and Erwin Duran.


Others already in the list are Ryan Arambulo, Rashawn McCarthy, Timothy Habelito, Cedrick Ablaza, Jaycee John Asuncion, Jericho de Guzman, Aaron Jeruta, Billy Ray Robles, Jan Niccolo Jamon, Levi Hernandez, Ryusei Koga, John Pontejos, Joeffrey Javillonar, Tristan Perez, Edzel Mag-isa, Jerald Cueto, Joshua Alolino, Reden Celda and Charley Caluya.

The top pick in the 2016 Draft belongs to the Blackwater Elite. Phoenix Petroleum is No. 2 with the draft rights the team earned from a previous trade deal with Star.

Third is Barangay Ginebra (from Phoenix), followed by Mahindra, Star (from GlobalPort), San Miguel Beer (from NLEX), Meralco, NLEX (from TNT KaTropa), Rain or Shine, Ginebra, Alaska and Phoenix (from San Miguel) to round out the first round.

Draft order in the second round is NLEX (from Blackwater), Rain or Shine (from Star), GlobalPort (from Phoenix), Meralco (from Mahindra), Alaska (from Globalport), Rain or Shine (from NLEX), GlobalPort (from Meralco), Phoenix (from TNT), Rain or Shine, Mahindra (from Ginebra), Alaska and Phoenix (from San Miguel).

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph