PBA board meets with Chot Reyes, vows to release a player each to Gilas 5.0
Returning Gilas coach Chot Reyes will get a player from each PBA team to add to the 12 cadets in the current Gilas Pilipinas 5.0 pool. Jerome Ascano

THE PBA board reiterated its all-out support to Gilas 5.0 under new coach Chot Reyes as all 12 teams again vowed to release a player each and become part of the national training pool.

Members of the board met with Reyes on Thursday at the PBA office where they committed to support and lend the 12 players, who the national coach will identify to make up the Gilas pool along with the 12 cadet cagers that will participate in Sunday’s special rookie draft.

Reyes stayed for just about 30 minutes during the regular monthly board meeting to hear out what the pro league will offer to the latest batch of Gilas he is currently forming.

“In general, the PBA is supporting him and his program,” said Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) president Al Panlilio, also the Meralco governor to the PBA Board. “They just wanted to talk to him being the new coach of Gilas, and share a few things with him, and we’re moving forward on how we can work together closely with the PBA players especially the lineup.”

It’s basically back to square one for Reyes as the training pool he’ll be forming is different from the one which Tab Baldwin, his predecessor, had during his stay with Gilas.

The new national coach however, hasn’t made yet his personal choices on the players he will pick from each teams.

“Wala pa (request of players) because Chot wants to hear them out first before he comes up with a lineup that he wants,” said Panlilio.

“Each PBA team will have a minimum of one (player), and that’s the commitment of the PBA.”

All 12 teams were represented during the meeting, namely incoming chairman Eric Arejola (Globalport), outgoing chairman Robert Non (San Miguel), Rene Pardo (Star), Alfrancis Chua (Ginebra) Panlilio (Meralco), Atty. Mamerto Mondragon (Rain or Shine), Pato Gregorio (TNT Katropa), Ramoncito Fernandez (NLEX), Dickie Bachmann (Alaska), Siliman Sy (Blackwater), Raymon Zorilla (Phoenix), and Tomas Alvarez (Mahindra).


Follow the writer on Twitter: @gerardmos