Pinkney on costly offensive goaltending call: 'Refs saw what they saw and I respect their call'
Koy Banal complains about the goaltending call on Phoenix import Kevinn Pinkney. Jerome Ascano

KEVINN Pinkney conceded that he hardly had time to think when he touched the net that led to the goaltending call that spelled the biggest difference in Phoenix’s 109-104 loss to Rain or Shine in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup on Friday.

The Fuel Masters import scored on a stab that put his team up, 106-105, with 17.9 seconds left, but the referees waived the basket after he was called for offensive goal tending.

“To be honest, I don’t remember grabbing the net,” Pinkney insisted after the game. “If I did, I did. In the heat of the moment, I didn’t know what I did. I was just trying to make the shot.”

“But the refs saw what they saw and I respect their call,” he added.

[See Rain or Shine benefits from controversial goaltending call to avoid upset ax]

Pinkney, however, played down the impact on the controversial play, saying he believes Phoenix could’ve avoided the predicament had the Fuel Masters converted in their previous possessions.

“We had to play through it,” the 6-foot-9 big man said. “We still had a chance to win the game and it shouldn’t have come down to that anyway. We should’ve won the game earlier than that.”

“We just have to regroup and try to get a win in our next game,” added Pinkney, who finished with 20 points, 14 boards, and seven assists in 38 minutes.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @KarloSacamos