Christian Standhardinger, Troy Rosario, Stanley Pringle top bets for PH team to 3x3 World Cup
San Miguel's Christian Standhardinger, TNT's troy Rosario and Globalport's Stanley Pringle have bene included in the pool for 3x3 worlds.  

FIL-German Christian Standhardinger, Troy Rosario and Stanley Pringle are among those included in the final list of possible players for the Philippine team in the FIBA 3x3 World Cup which the country is hosting in June at the Philippine Arena in Bulacan.

Also being considered for inclusion are Marcio Lassiter, Roger Pogoy and Arwind Santos, as per sources around the league.

Ironically, not in the list is new TnT Katropa Terrence Romeo, who was earlier mentioned as shoo-in for the national squad competing in the June 8-12 meet.

Only four will make the official PH team roster.

Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) president Al Panlilio joins PBA commissioner Willie Marcial in jointly announcing the composition of the team to be coached by Ronnie Magsanoc, just before the Commissioner’s Cup game between Barangay Ginebra and Rain or Shine on Sunday at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Also to be announced is the composition of the women’s team in the same event. Multi-titled National University coach Pat Aquino will call the shots for the squad along with Mark Solano.

Panlilio personally requested and got the approval of the league board during its meeting in Hong Kong last week to make their players available for the 3x3 meet.

The SBP however, deferred making the announcement as it held personal talks first with the players involved.  

In return, the PBA didn’t schedule any San Miguel, TnT and Golbalport games on the dates the event will be held.

The country is bracketed with Russia Brazil and Mongolia in Group C in the preliminaries.

Powerhouse Serbia leads Group A along with Netherlands, Romania, New Zealand, Kyrgyzstan, while making up Group B are Slovenia, Poland, Estonia, Japan, and Ecuador.

Meanwhile, Group D is composed of Latvia, Ukraine, Croatia, Jordan, and Nigeria.

The Philippines’ best finish in the event was ninth place during the 2016 edition in Guangzhou, China, with Mac Belo, Karl Dehesa, Glen Khobuntin, and Russel Escoto.


Last year, it finished 11th in Nantes, France behind a team composed of Kiefer Ravena, Kobe Paras, Jeron Teng, and JR Quinahan.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @gerardmos