Romeo, Guevarra face tough competition in bid to extend PBA shootout, slam dunk reign
Slam dunk king Rey Guevarra and three-point shootout champ Terrence Romeo look to extend their reigns during the PBA All-Star Week. Jerome Ascano

TERRENCE Romeo and Rey Guevarra look to extend their reigns as three-point shootout champ and slam dunk king, respectively, and close in on long-standing records in the PBA All-Star side events when they face a new set of tough challengers on April 28 in Lucena, Quezon.

GlobalPort gunner Romeo, who ruled the shootout in Palawan in 2015 and last year’s contest at the Smart Araneta Colisuem, guns for a three-peat to match the same feat of Mark Macapagal, who won the contest from 2010-2012 and owns the record of four three-point shootout crowns.

Standing in Romeo’s way is a mix of veteran snipers and young guns, including 2013 winner Chris Tiu, LA Tenorio, Gary David, Larry Fonacier, Allein Maliksi, Matthew Wright, Simon Enciso, Jared Dillinger, Juami Tiongson. Blackwater’s representative could either be Ronjay Buenafe or Mike DiGregorio, while San Miguel’s options are Marcio Lassiter and Alex Cabagnot.

[See PBA All-Star snubs]

Mahindra forward Guevarra, on the other hand, aims to rule the dunk contest for the fourth straight year and close in on KG Canaleta’s record of five titles in the said event. Meralco high-flyer Chris Newsome, who lost to Guevarra in a tight battle last year, leads the contenders along with Calvin Abueva, Japeth Aguilar, JC Intal, James Forrester, Mo Tautuaa, Justin Melton, Gabe Norwood and Arnold Van Opstal.

Meanwhile, Maverick Ahanmisi also looks to retain his Obstacles Challenge trophy against Chris Banchero, Roi Sumang, Sol Mercado, Stanley Pringle, LA Revilla, Eman Monfort, Ed Daquioag, RJ Jazul, Justin Melton, Chris Ross and Kris Rosales.

The side events will serve as an appetizer to the week’s second All-Star Game featuring the match between Team Luzon All-Star selection and members of the Gilas Pilipinas pool. The first will be played on April 26 in Cagayan de Oro and the final match will be held on April 30 in Cebu.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph