Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Oct 29

    How did Mark Barroca escape suspension? Commissioner Marcial explains

    Dec 13, 2018
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    MAGNOLIA guard Mark Barroca was not suspended for his low blow on Alaska's Chris Banchero in Game Four of the PBA Governors' Cup Finals because the referees failed to make a call in the incident.

    PBA commissioner Willie Marcial said a review of the incident confirmed that Barroca indeed threw a closed fist that hit Banchero in the groin area late in the Aces' 90-76win over the Hotshots.

    But since the referees were unable to spot Barroca's violation on the floor, Marcial said they had no choice but impose only a fine on Barroca as there is no precedent on a player being suspended after a non-call.

    The penalty, Marcial said, was similar to that of TNT cager Don Trollano when he was caught hitting San Miguel player Arwind Santos during a fracas involving Anthony Semerad during a PBA Commissioner’s Cup game.

    Trollano was slapped at that time with a P20,000 fine but was also spared suspension as the referees failed to call anything on the floor.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “Si Barroca kasi rineview namin ‘yung game, non-call. So non-call, tinanong ko kung may precedent, walang precedent,” said Marcial when asked by reporters about the decision during the PBA Draft Combine.

    “Parang nangyari ‘yan kay Trollano na sinuntok niya si Arwind Santos na hindi rin tinawagan ng referees. So sa review namin, may nakita kami na suntok. So ang hiningi namin sa kanya, P20,000 at walang suspension,” said Marcial.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    “Kung may precedent na ganun (suspension after a non-call), gagawin ko na sususpendihin ko,” said Marcial. “From non-call to suspension, wala kaming makitang precedent … Pag natawagan ‘yun wala tayong problema.”

    MORE FROM SPIN
    MORE FROM SPIN

      Marcial has, however, increased the fine and warned Barroca, saying that a repeat will merit a suspension.

      “Tinaasan ko na at winarningan ko na. Kapag inulit niya uli, F2 (flagrant foul two) o unsportsmanlike foul, sususpendehin ko siya. Walang tanong-tanong … Sinabihan ko na kapag inulit nya, kahit Game Five, Game Six, automatic suspension ‘yun,” said Marcial.

      Continue reading below ↓

      Marcial also suspended referee Rolando Dacanay for failing to spot Barroca's hit.

      “Tinignan niya ‘yung bola, dapat hindi niya tinignan ‘yung bola, dapat nakatingin siya sa dito sa apat na ‘to. Kaya suspended ‘yun. Sa kanya ‘yun eh. Eh nakatingin siya sa bola. Lumubog siya sa konti. Makikita niya ‘yun kung hindi siya sumunod sa bola,” said Marcial.

      Alex Compton was fined P20,000 for comments made after the game, although Marcial said the coach is still appealing the penalty.

      Read Next
      read more stories about:
      Sorry, no results found for
      PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result