Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 23

    At 26, June Mar Fajardo becomes first PBA player to win MVP three successive years

    Oct 14, 2016

    JUNE Mar Fajardo ran through the motions as he stepped on stage on Friday night to take what’s rightfully his.

    As expected, the San Miguel Beer slotman reasserted his dominance in the PBA as he became the first player to win the MVP award for the third straight season in the pro league's 41-year history.

    Fajardo, who topped the statistical points race and received the most votes from media, players, and Commissioner’s Office, joined Mon Fernandez, Alvin Patrimonio, and Bogs Adornado in the distinguished list of three-time MVPs.

    At 26, the 6-10 Cebuano, who also won the Sportsmanship Award for the second successive year, also moved one away from matching the four MVPs of Patrimonio and Fernandez.

    “Wala na akong masabi, sobrang thankful,” Fajardo addressed the crowd.  “Sobang saya ko, pero malungkot ako kasi hindi ko nadala team ko sa finals. Pagbubutihin ko pa para makaabot kami sa finals.”

    Fajardo beat Jayson Castro and Calvin Abueva for the award, joining his closest pursuers in the Mythical Five along with Terrence Romeo and Arwind Santos.

    Making up the Mythical second team is Alex Cabagnot, LA Tenorio, Asi Taulava, Sean Anthony, and Japeth Aguilar, who’s also part of the All-Defensive team along with Marc Pingris, Gabe Norwood, Chris Ross, and Ping Exciminiano.

    Chris Newsome was adjudged as this year’s top rookie, while Jericho Cruz was named Most Improved Player after his marked progress for Rain or Shine from last season.

    Fajardo completed his haul by winning the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award for the second straight year.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result