Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 21

    Will it be a double celebration for MVP-in-waiting June Mar Fajardo come Friday?

    Jul 15, 2015

    HISTORY beckons for San Miguel big man June Mar Fajardo.

    The 6-foot-10 center is on track to win a second straight Most Valuable Player (MVP) award as he is way ahead in the statistical race with 37.1 statistical point standings (sps) at the end of the semifinals of the Governors Cup.

    The next four players after Fajardo in the list – Jayson Castro, Greg Slaughter, Asi Taulava, and Paul Lee – all failed to advance past the semifinals, making the San Miguel stalwart a certainty to become the first player to win consecutive MVP awards in more than a decade.

    The crowning glory for Fajardo could come on Friday when the league holds the annual Leo Awards, which could make it a double celebration for the SMB star as the Beermen can wrap up the Governors Cup championship on the same night with a win over Alaska in Game Four.

    Danny Ildefonso – ironically the man who mentored Fajardo during his rookie season in the league – was the last one to be crowned back-to-back MVP in 2000 and 2001.

    The center out of University of Cebu is poised to become just the fourth player to achieve the feat after legends Bogs Adornado (1975 and 1976) and Alvin Patrimonio (1993 and 1994).

    He could also end up as one of the few to win the coveted individual award two times after the great Ramon Fernandez (1982, 1984, 1986, 1988), Patrimonio (1991, 1993, 1994, 1997), Bogs Adornado (1975, 1976, 1981), Abet Guidaben (1983 and 1987), Willie Miller (2002 and 2007), and James Yap (2006 and 2010).

    Statistical points count for 40 percent in determining the MVP winner, 30 percent comes from the media vote, 25 percent players’ vote, and five percent from the Commissioner’s Office.  

    Continue reading below ↓

    Fajardo was recently named Best Player of the Governors Cup, duplicating the same achievement he did during the Philippine Cup, which San Miguel won in seven grueling games over Alaska.

    Castro, the Best Player of the Conference in the Commissioner’s Cup won by Talk `N Text, is a far second with 29.09 sps. followed by Slaughter at third with 29.07 sps.

    Taulava is at No. 4 with 28.2 before Lee rounds up the top five list with 28.1.

    Making the top 10 list are the Globalport duo of Terrence Romeo (27.89) and Stanley Pringle (27.86), Arwind Santos (27.5), Calvin Abueva (26.9), and Ranidel de Ocampo (26.4)

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result