Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, Jun 6

    Big guns emerge in race to Commissioner's Cup Best Player award

    Aug 4, 2019

    NOW the men are set to separate themselves from the boys.

    Jayson Castro hangs on at No. 3 in the race for the PBA Commissioner's Cup Best Player of the Conference award, and is expected to give rookie frontrunners Bobby Ray Parks and CJ Perez a run for their money with TnT Katropa playing in the finals of the mid-season conference.

    Castro, 33, logged in 33.7 statistical points (sps) at the end of the semifinals which saw the Katropa dethroning deposed champion Barangay Ginebra in the best-of-five series.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Parks kept hold of the No. 1 spot with 37.2 sps followed by Perez at second with 36.1 sps.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    But Parks and Blackwater Elite failed to make it deep into the playoffs after being beaten by Rain or Shine in the quarterfinals.


      On the other hand, Perez's Columbian Dyip team didn't even make the playoffs.

      Also expected to make a case for the conference award is Philippine Cup winner June Mar Fajardo, who is at No. 4 with 32.9 sps.

      Continue reading below ↓

      With TnT battling San Miguel Beer in the best-of-seven title series, the BPC race could go down as a heated battle between Castro and Fajardo.

      Another rookie meanwhile in NorthPort's Robert Bolick is also in the running for the BPC plum with 32.46 sps to dislodge TnT's Roger Pogoy at no. 5.

      Pogoy's inconsistency in the semis hurt his bid as he fell all the way down at no. 9 with 30.8 sps.

      Completing the top 10 list are Sean Anthony of NorthPort at no. 6 (32.45 sps), followed by Alaska's Chris Banchero at seventh (31.1 sps), Batang Pier Mo Tautuaa at eight (30.9 sps), and Matthew Wright of Phoenix at 10th (29.4 sps).

      Read Next
      Sorry, no results found for
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result