Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Sep 24

    TNT to seek clarification on 'hanging on the rim' infraction as crucial tech on Rice fuels fiery debate

    Oct 7, 2017
    Glen Rice Jr. was charged with his second technical foul late in Game 3, but the call didn’t fall under the category of ejection unlike an unsporstmanlike or flagrant fouls since it was more technical in nature. Jerome Ascano

    THE technical foul on Glen Rice Jr. for hanging on the rim during Game Three of the PBA Governors Cup semifinals between TnT Katropa and Barangay Ginebra added more fuel to an already fiery debate on social media Friday night as other players who constantly do it are not meted with the same infraction.

    The TnT import was called for the violation inside the final minute of the intense match with the Kings leading, 105-100. Rice drove hard to the basket and went for a dunk but missed it.

    As he hung on to the rim, the import tried to snare the rebound with his other hand, earning him a technical foul and a bonus free throw for the defending champions which Justin Brownlee calmly sank to stretch Ginebra’s lead to six.

    While the act was an obvious clear violation that meted a technical foul and a P1,000 fine, netizens were quick to react about instances when players are not whistled for such infraction mostly in cases involving Arwind Santos and his ‘Spiderman dunk’ and at times, even involving Japeth Aguilar.

    SPIN.ph learned TnT management will seek out a clarification regarding the rule before the Commissioner’s Office.

    ALSO READ
    ALSO READ

      The Katropa could have been down by just two points had no technical foul was assessed on Rice as the prolific import fired a three-pointer after the sequence to make it a 106-103 Ginebra lead.

      The technical also happened to be the second one on the 26-year-old Rice, who was earlier whistled for one along with Kevin Ferrer for taunting late in the second quarter.

      Continue reading below ↓

      But the call didn’t fall under the category of ejection unlike an unsporstmanlike or flagrant fouls since it was more technical in nature, thus ensuring Rice playing on and finishing the game.

      Read Next
      We recommend
      MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
      Sponsored Content
      Glen Rice Jr. was charged with his second technical foul late in Game 3, but the call didn’t fall under the category of ejection unlike an unsporstmanlike or flagrant fouls since it was more technical in nature. Jerome Ascano
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result