Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Thu, Jul 19

    Final wave of fines for Game Six scrap brings total PBA Finals penalties to P140K

    Jul 6, 2017

    A belated woe to TnT Katropa but just a drop in the bucket for PBA Commissioner’s Cup champion San Miguel.

    The two ballclubs found themselves on the receiving end of various fines slapped by the league during the Beermen’s series-clinching 115-91 win in Game 6 of the recent finals.

    PBA Press Corps finals MVP Alex Cabagnot led those charged on the side of the Beermen, while veteran Ranidel de Ocampo and coach Nash Racela were among the Katropa personnel penalized for their participation in a physical play involving twins Anthony and David Semerad midway through the opening period.

    Cabagnot, along with Gabby Espinas, Ronald Tubid, and assistant coach Boyzie Zamar were penalized P5,000 each for incurring technical fouls after entering the court without the permission of game officials following the altercation.

    Also fined for the same offense was San Miguel therapist Edward Bacason, but only for P2,000.

    Other San Miguel players penalized include Yancy de Ocampo (P5,000 for flagrant foul penalty 1, Arwind Santos (P1,600 for a second technical foul), and Best Import Charles Rhodes (P4,600 for incurring his fifth technical foul).

    In all, the Beermen, who are expected to receive a a hefty bonus from management after winning a second straight title this season – and first Commissioner’s Cup crown since 2000 – received a total of P33,200 fines.

    Meanwhile, Racela, de Ocampo, Harvey Carey, Chris Rosales, and deputies Bong Ravena, and Gilbert Lao were fined P5,000 each for entering the court without permission of game officials during the altercation.

    TNT guard Ryan Reyes's technical foul cost him P1,600, bringing to P31,600 the total fines meted on the runner-up team.

    Continue reading below ↓

    For Game 6 alone, total fines were pegged at P64,800.

    In the entire course of the six-game finals, total fines amounted to P140,200, all of which will go directly to the PBA Players’ Trust Fund.

    No thanks to the P30,000 penalty each meted on rookie Roger Pogoy (flagrant foul 2 for deliberately hitting Santos in the groin) and Smith (issuing statements detrimental to the league), TnT’s total fines amounted to P98,600.

    San Miguel’s penalty meanwhile, amounted to P41,600.

    Smith had the highest total fines of P32,400, followed by Rhodes (P7,000), Santos (P6,600), and Yancy (P6,000).

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result