Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Aug 15

    Salud: 'Misinformed' Trillo overstepped his bounds

    Mar 24, 2013
    “There were statements issued by coach Luigi Trillo that were simply incorrect, and misinformed, which tends to mislead our fans in understanding the rules of basketball,” says PBA Commissioner Chito Salud. Jerome Ascano

    PBA commissioner Chito Salud said Alaska coach Luigi Trillo’s unfavorable statements and misconduct in the aftermath of the Aces’ dramatic 83-84 loss to San Mig Coffee in their Commissioner’s Cup game Saturday night are the main reasons why he was summoned to appear before his office on Monday.

    Salud will sit down with the young Alaska mentor before noon to make him explain his side in the incident that took place moments after the tightly-fought match.

    The amiable commissioner said he wants to hear why Trillo made public comments shortly after the game which he believed "tends to mislead the basketball fans."

    “There were statements issued by coach Luigi Trillo that were simply incorrect, and misinformed, which tends to mislead our fans in understanding the rules of basketball,” said Salud during halftime of the Ginebra-Barako Bull game on Sunday.

    At the same time, Salud is going to remind Trillo of a major violation he did when he confronted the technical officials moments following the match.

    “After the game, and we have a rule on that, no member of any team can approach or confront our game officials,” the commissioner stressed.

    “There is a purpose to that. First, to instill sportsmanship, and second, to make sure that they (coaches and players) have emotionally cooled down, emotions are running highly particularly after a close game. And yet they (Aces) did. They were yelling and screaming as we passed the hall.”

    Trillo questioned the double lane violation called on both the Mixers and Aces as rookie Calvin Abueva was about to take the last of his two free throws in the final 12 seconds and Alaska trailing by just a point.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The call led to a center court jump ball between the two teams.

    Salud insisted game officials made the correct call.

    “It’s a free throw violation. Both teams violated the rule and the refs called it spot-on. Correct call` yun,” said the commissioner.

    "In instilling the values of sportsmanship sa ating mga players I want to emphasize that I look to our coaches as my partners in making sure that our players understand their responsibility to become role models. Coaches are my partners.”

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
    “There were statements issued by coach Luigi Trillo that were simply incorrect, and misinformed, which tends to mislead our fans in understanding the rules of basketball,” says PBA Commissioner Chito Salud. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result