Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Jan 19

    Chris Newsome insists there was no intention to hurt after ejection in controversial play

    Nov 4, 2015
    Meralco rookie Chris Newsome was ejected after getting called for a flagrant foul 2 on this drive against fellow freshman Keith Agovida of Blackwater. Jerome Ascano

    CHRIS Newsome incurred an early stain in his young pro career on Wednesday when he got ejected in Meralco’s game against Blackwater in the PBA Philippine Cup at the Mall of Asia Arena.

    The Bolts Filipino-American rookie picked up a flagrant foul penalty 2 after he hit the face of Elite freshman Keith Agovida with his elbow while driving for a layup late in the second quarter.

    Newsome insisted there was no intention to hurt Agovida, saying he was just trying to avoid a block from his fellow rookie, who appeared to take an elbow in the face during the on-air collision.

    “I guess that’s what they saw, but of course not (there was no intention),” Newsome said.

    Bolts coach Norman Black was livid at the referees after the ejection that could hurt Newsome’s Rookie of the Year bid. The Bolts went on to lose the match, 90-92.

    Read Next
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
    Meralco rookie Chris Newsome was ejected after getting called for a flagrant foul 2 on this drive against fellow freshman Keith Agovida of Blackwater. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result