View Today
    Wed, Dec 11

    Dimaunahan fined P20K in wake of ejection in Blackwater loss to Phoenix

    Jun 3, 2019
    PHOTO: jerome ascaño

    NOT only winning is coming in the way early into the PBA coaching career of Aries Dimaunahan.

    The controversies, too.

    The Blackwater rookie mentor was slapped a P20,000 fine by the Commissioner's Office following his ejection in the Elite's 103-98 loss against Phoenix in last week's Commissioner's Cup at the Mall of Asia Arena.

    Dimaunahan was thrown out after being called for two technical fouls following a non-call by the referees against triple-teamed import Alex Stepheson.

    The boiling point came when he banged hard with his hand the officials' table.

    But Dimaunahan knew the consequences of his action that he was apologetic before mediamen when he did his post-game interview following Blackwater's 98-92 victory over Rain or Shine Sunday nighr at the Ynares Center in Antipolo.

    "I want to apologize for doing what I did yung sa last game namin nung na-thrown out ako," he said.

    "Totally uncalled for," Dimaunahan added. "I apologized to the PBA fans, to the fans of our team, to our management, and sa mga players ko."

    Continue reading below ↓

    MORE FROM SPIN
    MORE FROM SPIN

      Dimaumahan also found himself in a bind following the win over the Elasto Painters after he inadvertently forgot to shake hands with Rain or Shine counterpart Caloy Garcia shortly after the game.

      The Blackwater coach prioritized in congratulating his players first before turning his attention to the Rain or Shine coaching staff, a move that didn't sit well with Garcia.

      Dimaunahan had also personally apologized to Garcia after the incident by following him all the way to the Rain or Shine dugout. An infuriated Garcia told him to give him and his team a semblance of respect.

      "I want to apologize to coach Caloy for not shaking his hands right away," said Dimaunahan later. "Coach Caloy if I offended you, I'm so sorry. Wala akong gusto kung hindi ang i-congratulate muna yung mga players ko. If I offended you, I'm sorry."

      The win over Rain or Shine was the fourth in five outings for Blackwater, which retained the solo lead in the standings.

      Continue reading below ↓
      Read Next
      Recommended Videos
      Sorry, no results found for
      PHOTO: jerome ascaño
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result