Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Fri, Sep 21

    Compton explains Alaska meant no disrespect to GlobalPort with Abueva's 'garbage time' basket

    Dec 8, 2016
    Alaska coach Alex Compton apologized to GlobalPort's Franz Pumaren after a 'garbage time' basket by Calvin Abueva in the final play of the Aces' 95-84 win. Jaime Campos

    ALASKA coach Alex Compton made sure GlobalPort and its coach, Franz Pumaren, had no ill will toward the Aces after Calvin Abueva still took and made a shot in the final play even with the result already decided on Wednesday.

    Asked in the post-game press conference what they were talking about as they shook hands following the final buzzer of the Aces’ 95-84 win, Compton bared he apologized to Pumaren after Abueva put back his own miss at the buzzer to give them an 11-point win.

    Compton said it was simply for the Aces to earn a better quotient – in case the Aces’ postseason fight goes down the wire.

    “We talk about honor at Alaska and I always want to honor our opponents,” Compton began. “I have tremendous respect for coach Franz, and this is stuff I’ve said behind closed doors, so wala namang bola dito – I think he’s one of the best coaches in the country." 

    “And there’s an (unwritten) rule before in coaching that you never score like the last basket we scored,” he added.

    [See Pain persists for Abueva, but desire to win for Alaska far greater]

    But Compton recounted the Aces’ campaign in the last Governors’ Cup, saying a similar possession cost the Aces the twice-to-beat advantage as they dropped to the sixth seed, losing to Ginebra, which had a win-once incentive.

    “Whereas if we had a couple more baskets, we’re in the twice-to-beat with a better chance to go deeper,” he said. said. “So I just wanted to tell him, ‘Hey, I’m really sorry. We weren’t trying to ruin anything up. It’s just the quotient really matters in an eleven-game conference, and that basket – who knows – I’ve had that happen twice now in my PBA career where we got on a bad end of a quotient and we lost a significant advantage.”

    Continue reading below ↓

    “I won’t have any problem with any coach that does that to us,” he added. “It’s just a coaching ethic thing and I just wanted to make sure it as clear because I have high respect for him.”  

    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
    Alaska coach Alex Compton apologized to GlobalPort's Franz Pumaren after a 'garbage time' basket by Calvin Abueva in the final play of the Aces' 95-84 win. Jaime Campos
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result