Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 21

    Alex Cabagnot gets nod as Comeback Player of the Year in PBA Press Corps awards rite

    Sep 11, 2015

    TERRENCE Romeo’s offensive explosion and Alex Cabagnot’s return to his old deadly form will be aptly recognized in the annual PBA Press Corps (PBAPC) Awards Night on Sept. 16 at the Century Park Hotel.

    Romeo is going to be honored as the Scoring Champion, while Cabagnot got the nod of league scribes as recipient of the William ‘Bogs’ Adornado Comeback Player of the Year award.

    The two makes up the list of awardees to be feted on this special night for their memorable performance in the season just past.

    Highlight of the affair which starts at 7 p.m. is the bestowing of the Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan Coach of the Year and the Danny Floro Executive of the Year awards.

    Romeo, the prolific Globalport combo guard, led all players in scoring last season with a 19.7 point average per game to succeed Jason Castro of Talk ‘ N Text as the league’s new scoring leader.

    The charismatic Gilas Pilipinas stalwart was the top local scorers in both the Commissioner’s Cup (20.8 ppg) and Governors Cup (22.2 ppg), respectively.

    Cabagnot meanwhile, regained back his fiery form with the Beermen following his trade from Globalport midway in the All-Filipino Cup.

    The veteran Fil-Am guard went on and became a vital piece in the Beermen winning two of the three conference titles at stake, including the Philippine Cup.

    Earlier named awardees in the two-hour celebration traditionally held by the PBAPC since 1993 were Rain or Shine’s Paul Lee and members of the All-Rookie team.

    Lee is the recipient of the PBAPC-Accel Order of Merit Award, while Pringle leads the five-man All-Rookie squad also composed of Alaska’s Chris Banchero, Jake Pascual of Barako Bull, Matt Ganuelas Rosser of Talk ‘N Text and Lee’s Rain or Shine teammate Jericho Cruz.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The rest of the awards to be given are Defensive Player of the Year and Mr. Quality Minutes. (Sixth Man Award).

    League officials led by president and CEO Chito Salud and commissioner Chito Narvasa, along with members of the PBA Board headed by chairman Robert Non are expected to join the PBAPC under president Barry Pascua of Bandera during the two-hour long celebration.


    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result