Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Aug 15

    Alaska protest plan dropped but Trillo insists refs made 'wrong judgment call'

    Mar 24, 2013
    “They (PBA) kept insisting it was a double-lane violation. But honestly, I’m not misleading. I feel it’s a judgment call and it was a wrong judgment call,” says Alaska coach Luigi Trillo. Jerome Ascano

    A DAY after the controversial match against San Mig Coffee, Alaska coach Luigi Trillo said the Aces are no longer pushing through with its plan to put the game under protest “in the spirit of sportsmanship.”

    However, Trillo said he intends to explain his side when he meets with commissioner Chito Salud on Monday at 11:30 a.m.

    “What we’re debating about is that PJ Simon and Mark Barroca hit Calvin Abueva just before he attempted (his second free throw). And there is such a thing as a disconcerting (violation), or disrupting a player,” Trillo told Spin.ph, shortly after Alaska’s practice on Sunday.

    Trillo explained the referees should have at least done something to at least first warn the players involved during the dying seconds of Saturday's match before letting Abueva take his second free throw attempt.

    Instead, the referees ruled a double-lane violation on the play and called for a jump ball, denying Abueva a crack at a game-tying free throw as the Aces went on to lose, 83-84.

    “They (PBA) kept insisting it was a double-lane violation. But honestly, I’m not misleading. I feel it’s a judgment call and it was a wrong judgment call,” stressed the Aces mentor.

    Trillo said he is prepared to make a presentation to Salud as he seeks to clarify specific things regarding officiating.

    Emotions later on spilled into the hallway leading to the two team’s dugouts as Trillo and his coaching staff confronted technical committee head Ramil Cruz after the game, leading to the PBA summon.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    We recommend
    MORE FROM SUMMIT MEDIA
    Sponsored Content
    “They (PBA) kept insisting it was a double-lane violation. But honestly, I’m not misleading. I feel it’s a judgment call and it was a wrong judgment call,” says Alaska coach Luigi Trillo. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result