Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Jan 19

    Alaska honors '30 greatest players' in franchise history to celebrate 30th year in PBA

    Nov 12, 2015
    Former Alaska stars grace the celebration of the team's first 30 years on Thursday. Gerry Ramos

    ALASKA celebrated its three decades as a PBA franchise on Thursday night by naming 30 of the Greatest Players in team history.

    No less than team owner Wilfred Uytengsu led the celebration at the Enderun College at Bonifacio Global City and attended by current and former Alaska players.

    Highlight of the affair was the naming of the 30 Greatest Alaska players in history led by the 1996 grand slam team abnnered by Jojo Lastimosa, Bong Hawkins, Johnny Abarrientos, and Jeff Cariaso.

    "Tonight we celebrate 30 years of teamwork, 30 years of integrity, and I would like to believe, 30 years of glory," said Uytengsu in his speech as he looks back to the history of the franchise which first joined the PBA in 1986.

    "We also would like to recognize the 30 Greatest Players who have worn an Alaska jersey."

    Also named to the list were Yoyoy Villamin, Willie Pearson, Biboy Ravanes, Boy Cabahug, Bong Alvarez, Ricric Marata, Eugene Quilban, Sean Chambers, Poch Juinio, Kenneth Duremdes, Rodney santos, Devin Davis, Ali Peek, Mike Cortez, Diamon Simpson, Reynel Hugnatan, Willie Miller, Rossell Ellis, Sonny Thoss, Tony dela Cruz, LA Tenorio, Rob Dozier, Cyrus Baguio, Dondon Hontiveros, Jvee Casio and Calvin Abueva.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Thoss, Dela Cruz, Baguio, Hontiveros, Casio, and Abueva are part of the Alaska team that last won a league championship during the 2013 Commissioner's Cup. All six players remain with the Aces until now.

    "It would be easy to summarize our thirty years statistically but that's not what this milestone is all about. This is about an incredible journey, " added Uytengsu.

    Also recognized were the efforts of Abueva, Thoss, Hontiveros, and Vic Manuel as part of the national teams.

    Among those badly missed were former league MVPs Johnny Abarrientos, Kenneth Duremdes, and coach Tim Cone, who failed to make it to the event due to prior commitments.

    All former and current players of Alaska were later given their souvenir caps and other items made especially for the occasion.

    Read Next
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
    Former Alaska stars grace the celebration of the team's first 30 years on Thursday. Gerry Ramos
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result