Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, Oct 16

    PBA explains why refs reviewed Norwood block vs Tenorio, called for jump ball

    Jan 27, 2019
    PHOTO: PBA Images

    THE PBA’s move to review a goaltending call that led to a jumpball late in Rain or Shine’s win over Barangay Ginebra on Saturday was prompted by a rule change that was implemented this season.

    On Saturday, Gabe Norwood was called for a goaltending for a chasedown block against LA Tenorio but the call was nullified after a review, preventing Ginebra from cutting an 82-79 Rain or Shine to just a point.

    Worse, Rain or Shine was able to gain possession in the ensuing jump ball to hold on to a 83-80 win.

    PBA commissioner Willie Marcial said the video review was prompted by a new rule implemented starting this season that goaltending calls made inside a game's last two minutes should be reviewed.

    “Tama ‘yun na pagka-block at goaltending ang tinawag, ire-review,” said Marcial.

    Marcial said it was the league coaches themselves who called for video reviews on such crucial calls in the endgame.

    Continue reading below ↓


      Ginebra coach Tim Cone was furious that the Kings were not given possession after the goaltending call was waived off and instead led to a jumpball.

      Marcial, however, explained that under the new rules, whoever gets the ball after the Norwood block was immaterial because technically, play was stopped as soon as the referee made the call.

      Continue reading below ↓
      Recommended Videos

      “Parang patay na ‘yung oras dahil hindi mo alam kung saan babagsak kasi may tawag,” said Marcial.

      Read Next
      Sorry, no results found for
      PHOTO: PBA Images
    • POLL

      • Quiz

        Quiz Result