Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Fri, Aug 17

    PBA Youngstars summer event lures banner field

    Apr 10, 2013

    A TOTAL of 133 teams from all over the country will compete in the 2013 Coca-Cola PBA Youngstars starting on April 20.

    One hundred and twenty teams from the provinces and 13 from Metro Manila will see action in the tournament for Filipino players aged 13-16, with provincial eliminations set in Pangasinan, Pampanga, Laoag, Laguna, Cavite, Batangas, Cebu, Bacolod, Iloilo, Davao, Cagayan de Oro and Zamboanga.

    Ten teams collide in each province, with the provincial leg champion advancing to the regional finals slated on May 10 to 12.

    Champion teams from Pangasinan, Pampanga and Laoag vie for the Northern Luzon crown, winners from Laguna, Cavite and Batangas slug it out for the Southern Luzon diadem, top squads from Cebu, Bacolod and Iloilo fight for the Visayas tiara and winners of the Davao, Cagayan de Oro and Zamboanga eliminations battle for the Mindanao trophy.

    The regional winners get a shot at the national championship, joining two Metro Manila teams in the national finals set May 19 to 26.

    The six national finalists figure in a single-round-robin play with the top two making it to the championship game.

    Regional teams point persons are Danny Soria for Pangasinan/Pampanga, Perry Martinez and Matthew Manotoc for Laoag, Ranel Villadelrey for Cavite, Judd Cauntay for Batangas, Gherome Ejercito for Laguna, Yayoy Alcoseba for Cebu, Tony Agustin for Bacolod, David Recio for Iloilo and Pete Alfaro for Mindanao.

    The regional finals will be played in Pampanga for Northern Luzon, Batangas for Southern Tagalog, Davao for Mindanao and either Cebu or Iloilo for the Visayas.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Taytay topped the inaugural Coca-Cola PBA Youngstars behind a team featuring mainstays of the San Beda team.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result